Come and help me with some renovation projects in the middle of Thuringian forest, Möhrenbach, Germany

  • Favourited 1574 times
  • Last activity: 3 Mar 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks



  • Description


    I live in the 30.000m ² plot of an old mill in a secluded location in the middle of the Thuringian Forest (3 miles to the road). I have a pig, called "Ellie", a couple of goats, a dog, Chicken and 2 horses. I need help with some projects: The main task is to help me with some smaller projects (mostly smaller construction and renovation tasks...), but also simply help like clean the house, or feed the animals, cutting grass, clean and bedmaking. So - I have a lot difference things to do, it is not boring here :-)
    You should love animals and responsibly handling the animals.
    I am architect employ, including with ecological and sustainable construction. You live in a very nice room in my house , we use the kitchen together and i like to eat together with you the dinner, but I do not cook so much.
    You can use the bicicle or the scooter to drive in the next village, because we are 3 km far from the next village.
    In the house will not be smoked!
    Internet and Mobile: There's no mobile phone network here, just a regular phone. The internet access you can use all day is relatively weak. Internet is only for communication, not for streaming music or movies, or for busines. Skyp usually works.

    Ich lebe auf dem 30.000m² Grundstück einer alten Mühle in Alleinlage mitten im Thüringer Wald (3 km bis zur Straße). Ich habe ein Schwein namens Ellie, ein paar Ziegen, Hunde, Hühner und 2 Pferde. Hilfe benötige ich bei einigen Projekten: Die Hauptarbeit wird die Sanierung eines alten Gebäudes sein. Aber auch einfach nur entrümpeln und aufräumen, die Tiere füttern, Rasen mähen, das Gästehaus betreuen, reinigen und Betten machen gehört zu den Aufgaben hier. Wenn Du etwas kochen kannst, wäre es perfekt.
    Du solltest Tiere mögen und verantwortungsbewusst mit den Tieren umgehen können.
    Ich bin Architekt, beschäftige mich u. a. mit ökologischen und nachhaltigem Bauen. Wir haben ein schönes Zimmer bei uns im Haus. Wir benutzen die Küche zusammen und essen gerne zusammen mit Dir /Euch zum Abend, ich selbst kann aber nicht kochen.
    Du kannst das Fahrrad oder den Motorroller benutzen und in die Stadt fahren, wir liegen 3km von dem nächtsen Dorf entfernt im Wald.

    (Mon français n'est pas très bon, mais j´aimerais essayer!)
    Je vis sur le terrain d'un ancien moulin a eau ( 30.000m2) dans un endroit isolé au milieu de la forêt de Thuringe (3 miles à la route). J´ai un cochon nomme "Ellie", un couple de chèvres et des chiens. J´ai besoin d'aide pour certains projets: Il y a un peu de jardinage / aménagement paysager/ travaux, construction / rénovation a faire mais aussi tout simplement des traveaux de manutentions. Je voulais commencer un petit elevage de volailles.
    Je suis un architecte employé, en construction écologique et durable.
    Vous aurez une belle chambre dans ma maison que nous partagerons avec le chat et les chiens. Un minimum de 2 semaines, plus de temps possible.
    Dans la maison ne sera pas fumé.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can immerse yourself in an extraordinary life with animals, in the middle of the forest, enjoying the tranquility, away from the city, learning about the organization and handling of animals. In the projects, I like to propose my way to the implementation, but I am also willing to try your suggestions. You can learn to handle machines and tools. For day trips I bring you to known cities and nearby attractions.
    Please read the feedbacks, there are some more things called ....

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    I need help with some projects:,
    construction / renovation, but also simply clear out and clean up only.
    Gardening / landscaping, cooking
    Feed animals and take care of them

    Hilfe benötige ich bei einigen Projekten: Bauarbeiten/Renovierungsarbeiten, aber auch einfach nur entrümpeln und aufräumen oder kochen.
    Tiere füttern und pflegen

    J´ai besoin d'aide pour certains projets:
    construction / rénovation, mais aussi tout simplement vider et nettoyer seulement.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Intermediate
    French: Beginner
    Russian: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    There is a small room with 2 beds and shelves for you.
    You live in my household with a Dog.

    Es gibt ein kleines Zimmer mit 2 Betten und Regalen für Dich.
    Sie/Du lebst in meinem Haushalt mit einem Hund.

    Il y a une petite chambre avec deux lits et des étagères pour toi.
    Vous / Tu vis avec moi, un chat.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Thuringian Forest is located in the center of Germany, the nearest large city is the Universitycity "Ilmenau" (population about 30.000, about 9 km away). The small town of "Gehren" (about 5.000 inhabitants) about 4 km away. The state capital Erfurt is located about 40 km (0.5 hours by car).
    I eat meat and can not imagine living with a vegetarian together - too complicated.

    Der Thüringer Wald befindet sich in der Mitte Deutschlands, die nächst größere Stadt ist die Universitätsstadt Ilmenau (ca. 30.000 Einwohner, ca. 9 km entfernt). Die Kleinstadt Gehren (ca. 5.000 Einwohner) ist ca 4 km entfernt. Die Landeshauptstadt Erfurt ist ca. 40 km entfernt (0,5 h mit dem Auto).
    Ich esse Fleisch und kann mir nicht vorstellen mit einem Vegetarier zusammen zu leben - zu kompliziert!

    Je mange de la viande et ne peux pas imaginer de vivre avec un végétarien ensemble - trop compliqué.

    !!! If you need an official invitation to get a visa. Do not ask. We only support official entry routes. We will not encourage half-assed intentions to enter Germany. I'm writing this because I keep hearing about young men from faraway countries wanting to do their best work for many months for nothing. Just so they can be in Germany. That is not our approach. Many cultures are guests here. But there must be legal ways to enter. !!!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week (max 25/hours/week)

Host ref number: 165894735392

Feedback (29)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.9)

Learn to brew homemade beer and help us with daily life in Traben-Trarbach, Germany
Horse enthusiasts welcome in the beautiful Steigerwald, Franconia, Germany