Help us with daily life on our small hobby family farm in the village of Ringarum, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 45 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    68.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello and welcome to our small farm!

    We are a family of 5 including Malin (34), Bill (30) and our 3 children born 2015, 2017 and 2019. We live in a small village on the east coast of Sweden called Ringarum.

    On the farm we have a small group of sheeps and some chickens and 2 cats. Sometimes the animal set up is different and ducks and rabbits can be part of the farm as well.

    We live in a typical Swedish red timber house from around 1850. There are some history viewable in the farm and in the buildings which is very interesting.

    We are both working/studying full time, so the farm is not our main living and does not give any salary, but keeps us very busy. Our vision is to increase the level of self-supplying, enjoy fresh vegetables, raising our own animals for meat, collecting firewood and so on. We love growing seeds and put plants into the soil, but the size of the cultivation varies depending on time and energy. Summertime is harvest time for hay as animal food during winter.

    Close by Ringarum there is a lot of beautiful environment to enjoy during all seasons. Close by is the ocean Östersjön and the archipelago is just 15-20 minutes away with car. A lot of forest and small lakes to explore. We love being outside in the nature and find adventures where they can be found.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Come enjoy the small scale farm life in a small swedish village where the nature is around the corner.

    Ringarum is located between Söderköping and Valdemarsvik, which both are beautiful small towns loved by summer tourists, where you can find Göta canal, the archipelago and Östersjön. 30 minutes away you'll also find the town Norrköping.

    Stay in our caravan and come close to the nature, wake up to the sound of the rooster and enjoy the view of the fields around the corner. You can take a walk to the forest, go biking, and 2 km away is the lake perfect for swimming and fishing. In the village you can also find running tracks and an outdoor gym.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with all common house chores like babysitting, playing with the kids, cooking, baking, cleaning, gardening and daily animal care, farming, maintenance, renovation and building projects. Let us know what you prefer to do and we're sure to find something that is both helpful for us as making your stay here enjoyable.

    We offer 1-2 meals and accommodation in exchange for 4-5 hours work a day, 5 days a week.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For your stay here we offer our caravan as your own private house during your stay (or if you brings your own caravan or campervan). In the caravan there is a small TV, a kitchen and 4G Connection). Clean water and heating of course available. Bathroom and showering in our house.

    We prefer that you prepare your own breakfast in the caravan and your expected to arrange that by yourself. We offer 1-2 meals every day. Walking distance from our house is a small food market where every common goods is available. For the bigger supermarket you travel by bus or car 15 minutes from here.

    If you have any favorite dishes we’d love to learn how to make them, we are always open for new food experiences.

    We appreciate that you are a non-smooker.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a good internet connection in the house with 100/100. 4G coverage is very good in the area.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We can host people whatever size of campervan/motorhomes. Electricity (220V, 10 amps) and water available for you (Water to fill the water tank).

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    After agreement, we possibly could host pets, however dogs needs to either be very well trained or in a leash at all time.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 291331782736