Experience tiny house living with our family in Thetford Mines, Quebec, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 3 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/07/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a happy family of 2 parents and 2 young girls, 3 1/2 and 5 years old. We are looking for some help during the summer months to spend as much time as possible in the countryside and at the lakeshore, at our tiny house near Thetford Mines, Quebec. Because both parents are professionals who'd like to take home office to the cabin, the ideal would be to find someone who loves the simple life and the great outdoors to share some memorable summer moments together and help with caring for the kids and some household duties during our joint working periods (mostly from Mondays to Fridays, from 8am to 1pm) from mid-July to the end of August.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As you will share our family life, you'll be able to enjoy summer at a lakeshore in the countryside, living outdoor, speaking French/English/German with us, playing with our girls, enjoying the fire pit during the evening, enjoying the stars, the fauna and flora of a lake surrounded by forest, sharing our simple life at our tinyhouse... During the afternoons you'll be free to stay with us or take your time off, explore the area (Chaudière-Appalache), go rock climbing (indoor or outdoor), hiking, sailing, kiting, visiting Quebec or do whatever else you would like to do.

  • Help

    Help

    When both parents are working, the workawayer would have to take care of the girls, from their breakfast to their nap time, including the preparation of their snack and lunch. Both girls enjoy being in the countryside, playing on our ground, bicycling on the pathway, walking in the forest, swimming in the lake, sailing in their boat... In the afternoon, one of the 2 parents will take over and you'll be able to enjoy your free time as you want.

    When parents are on vacation, the workawayer is expected to help with gardening or small construction projects, grocery and meal preparation, etc...

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I need to refresh my Spanish, and we will be happy to share our French, English and German.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Since all 4 of us are living in a 24'x8' single space tinyhouse, you can either bring your own tent/camper or we can provide you with a tent for sleeping. There are plenty of nice camping spots on the property.

    We are drinking spring water which we buy in town, drawing our water for dishes and shower from a dwell, using a composting toilet, and profiting from the warm water of the lake to wash ourselves. We have a small fridge, a small oven and a small cooking surface, all electric, and finally a small propane BBQ. We do our laundry in town. In short everything is of tinyhouse living / luxury camping style with a low footprint.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our tinyhouse is close to Thetford Mines, Quebec. The county is Chaudière-Appalaches and has much to offer for the countryside lovers, parks, mountains, rivers... where it's possible to walk, mountain bike, hike, rock climb, swim, sail, kite, fish, kayak, etc...

    Transportation wise, a car is definitely a plus to get around. Thetford offers a taxi-bus on its territory with a stop 3mins away from our property, and a daily bus goes to Quebec City in 2h, departs in the morning, and returns at the end of afternoon. By car, Quebec city is 1h away, Sherbrooke 1.5h and Montreal 3h away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    If you are self-sufficiently connected there is a very good 4G connectivity. We use this network to work remotely and even for our video meetings.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Our tiny house being a trailer, our ground is equipped with a 30A/110V and a regular 15A/110V power outlets. Also the dwell manual water pump is very convenient to draw water to fill buckets, or even to connect a 2'' hose to it. The water of the lake is really nice to swim in. Note that we use a compostable toilet. All washing or cleaning soaps must be of the outdoors camping type, i.e. absolutely biodegradable.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 533576395977