Help Our Large Family in Arusha Tanzania

Country

Tanzania

Favourited 35 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/11/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    441

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    54.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 73 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a large family consisting of one Mama (originally British but living here for eight years) and six children. Alfie is eleven, Layla is ten, Isabella is nine, Jack is seven, Madeline is five & little Betty is one. We live on a beautiful property of around 2 acres, we are surrounded by mango trees, papaya, guava, lemons etc. We have bush babies who frequent the garden, chameleons, a hyrax living in the store and we keep pigs & have a pet dog, we also love to grow our own veggies. We are a very welcoming family, we love sharing our lives with others & learning about new cultures. I am very keen to get someone in ASAP to help us.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Myself and the children speak both Swahili and English & we have staff who do not speak English, therefore, you should be able to learn at least a basic level of Swahili whilst you are here if you want. You will have the opportunity to go to the markets and possibly visiting villages/ local families.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for an individual who can come & help out our family. Your main focus would be teaching the children, planning & implementing activities & having fun with them. I am keen however to find someone who has a muck in attitude, someone who might offer to cook sometimes, or sees that there is a bit of mess & helps clean it up. Someone who may watch the children for a few hours every now and again. Just someone who is fun, motivated and enjoys being around children. To help with the teaching side of things you must have fluent English, however, if you speak other languages we would love for you to introduce your language & culture to the children. Someone who can help with our vegetable gardens & motivate the children to do so too would be wonderful.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Swahili (Kiswahili): Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation is a bedroom & shower room, though the two are separate both will be for your sole use. The room is set within a large 2 storey house on a big 2 acres plot with fruit trees, wildlife & so much space. We have security in place so you will be quite safe. Please note though, this is Tanzania so power outages are to be expected & internet being a bit hit & miss, you need to be someone who can adapt easily & go with the flow.]

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located very close to lots of beautiful national parks, Serengeti, Lake Manyara, Tarangire, Arusha, Ngorngoro & Kilimanjaro so you could organise yourself a safari. I am happy to arrange for you to have long weekends off if you want to explore. Local swimming pools are a nice way to relax on the weekend. There are places you can arrange to go horse riding should you wish, we have hot springs which you can go for a day trip too. Taking a trip and exploring the next town Moshi can also be done in a day and other day trips such as visiting the native tribes people. I am more than happy to help you with organising excursions to ensure you get a good deal.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 289632775234