Help restore A-Frame Cabin + Gardens on Salt Spring Island, Canada!

Country

Canada

Favourited 98 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/01/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    62.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi - I'm Victoria and along with my partner Nathen we are restoring a 1970 A-Frame cabin on beautiful Salt Spring Island, British Columbia. We have recently moved to the island from Vancouver seeking a different pace of life and making time for the important things. Our projects are mostly related to building or organic gardening / permaculture. We have many building projects such as setting up new walls, refinishing old wood beams, flooring, etc. We also have lots of garden projects such as building raised beds, finding micro climates around the property and growing food!

    I backpacked for a long time and used Workaway and other websites to do so. I now want to share my (new to us) home and open it for people like you to come stay in exchange! We love to hike, do yoga, cook vegan food, and connect with people. We are queer and 420 friendly.

    We are currently looking to host volunteers for a maximum commitment of 1-2 weeks.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are happy to share our A-Frame house with you and help you explore Salt Spring Island. It is a magical little place between Victoria and Vancouver where there is an abundance of farms, local products, and community. We can show you around, cook vegan meals together, talk travel (we've been a lot of places!), go out camping in the westfalia etc. Plus if you like dogs + cats you can hang out with our pets Perry and Liam.

  • Help

    Help

    Right now we are looking for someone who is not afraid of physical work. We need to clear out lots of branches and wood logs from fallen trees. It will require helping us carry logs of wood from the backyard up a hill or elsewhere.

    If you have experience with any of the following: construction, building, carpentry, general contract work, garden expertise, fruit tree growing, plumbing, electrical etc. ...you're a good fit! If you have experience with building off grid (the house is not but we are interested), rain water harvesting, sustainable principals, vegan food, pet training - or if you think you have a good skill let us know!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a little french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a spare bedroom on the main floor. This is a separate floor from our bedroom upstairs and you have your own door to outside. The floor is a shared space (laundry, workshop and yoga area on that floor) but your room is your own. There is a bed provided in the room. Breakfast / Lunch + Dinner will be provided as shared meals and we encourage you to cook for a night if you feel comfortable, typically we all end up cooking together and throwing something together last minute. If you would like to use the kitchen and have some meals alone that is okay too. WIFI is provided but cell signal is not very strong at the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lots to do on the island, visit local brewery, markets, farmstands, hikes, go to the beaches, swim in some lakes etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 288567857149