Homestead living 5 minutes from the old city of Chania, Crete, Greece

Country

Greece

Favourited 68 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi fellow traveler, my name is Pavlos and I am a Canadian-born Greek who has lived in Canada for most of my life. I am back in Crete for the foreseeable future and intend to grow food here through managing both livestock and my large backyard garden.

    I have been following a carnivore diet to manage an auto-immune condition for the past six months and I feel fantastic on it. I don't see myself changing my diet anytime soon so if you are a judgmental vegan please do not request a workaway with me. Everyone else is welcome. :D

    I am also a certified TEFL teacher (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) and Permaculture Designer (PDC course completed in 2012 at Seliana, Greece). I play electric bass for a reggae/rock/blues band. We are touring the island this year doing random gigs and have already played at the Matala Beach Festival this year (Loco Mondo was the best!!). My preferred instrument is the ukulele and if you play music you will find a bunch of options at my home which is located in the historic neighbourhood of Kokkino Metochi. This is where Ottomans rulers lived while they occupied Crete. Their main building is the namesake of our neighbourhood and is now in ruins but was one of the shooting locations of the great film "Zorba the Greek" in the 60s.

    I have big, big garden that I am busy planting and organizing. There are mulberry trees, lemon trees, and fig trees on the land. Currently I am planting veggies, papayas and custard-apple trees (anone). I have a neighbour who keeps chickens and they visit my backyard constantly and lay eggs in all sorts of odd locations. It's like an easter-egg hunt everyday at my place. My other neighbour has horses and I help him clean the stalls once a week.

    I have a several wormeries that I have designed to be self-contained plant growing and waste management systems. The current design is a large clay amphora and I am constantly improving on the design.

    I have several projects that I intend to complete this summer the two major ones being an aquaponics set-up and a chicken trackter.

    I have two ukuleles, a guitar, a mandolin, a cajon, and a few other musical instruments that I play in the evening whenever I have the time and inspiration.

    I am a non-smoker and my home is a smoke-free environment. I sleep at odd hours but try to be in bed by midnight because I always wake up early.

    I think that ice-hockey is the greatest sport ever, I love reading fantasy novels (LOTR styles), I sometimes talk in my sleep and like cheesy kung-fu movies and any movie that has Keanu Reeves in it. :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    So I am a multi-cultural man, having one foot firmly in my French-Canadian upbringing and the other foot in my Greek roots and heritage.

    I have completed my Permaculture Design Certification course a few years ago and am happy that I can now start to use it.

    I am not the greatest musician but I AM a great teacher so what I know I can transfer quite effectively. I know how to teach you ukulele so that's what you can learn music-wise from me. If English is your second language and you want to improve, bonus! I'm a certified English teacher too.

    I know the island well, and am often on the hunt for new and interesting places to hike, swim or camp at. If you like adventuring, chances are we will accomplish one or two of such while you are here.

    I make and aply compost tea to my garden a few times a week. I follow Ealaine Ingram's work and my compost tea recipe follows her intructions fairly true. I own a good microscope so if you like microbiology you'll have the opportunity to study my soil organisms in depth.

  • Help

    Help

    The ideal candidate will be very independent inside and outside the house.

    I need help in every aspect of maintaining this home so if you are skilled in household chores, great; if you are a creative builder who can use his/her hands to build up some sheds/chicken coops and/or garden projects, great; if you are unskilled and feel like shredding paper and hauling horse manure to feed my worms and help clear out some junk, that's fantastic; if you like organizing tools/seeds/equipment, fabulous. I also own a motorcycle that needs some rewiring so if you are skilled in that, well, you're a shoe-in. I think that so long as you have a positive attitude and want to work we'll get along just fine.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    greek, english, french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I live in a three bedroom house on the outskirts of the most beautiful city on the most beautiful island I've seen: Chania, Crete. Walking to the old Venetian port will take you about 40-45 minutes but there are also busses that pass by at the corner of the street every 20 minutes or so (but this is Greece, so.... well, you'll see...). I own a car so if you have an international driver's license you can borrow it when I don't need it.

    There is a private room that opens onto the main living room where I have an Ikea pull-out couch for extra guests, which I have a lot of in the summers. There is a cot in the private room now which is comfy but there is little else in the room. I've been wanting to upgrade the room since moving here last year so that I can rent it so that could be a side project for those who are interior design-minded.

    I am happy to provide you with the staples of whatever kind of diet you are following. As I am on a carnivore diet, it is very easy for me to shop and cook and eat. If you are into cooking and preparing big meals feel free to do so in the common kitchen. There is a rice cooker, all kitchen appliances and cookware but little else in terms of perishable pantry goods.

    I go shopping twice a week so if there are things you need in terms of food I am happy to purchase and source your groceries for you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My home is super-close to Chania for a homestead so you'll be able to either walk or take the bus to Chania whenever you feel like it. I often go on day-trips to beaches and free-camping sites so if you are into that then we can plan a day trip together. Crete is a huge island with tons of mountains, caves, beaches and dive sites, and everything you can imagine. Just pick up a tourguide and check it out. You won't be bored here, that's a fact. I have a car you can borrow if you bring it back in one piece and put gas in it. There are two bicycles that need to be fixed before working but if you can do that then you can use the bikes too.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 679553515534