Old priory with lakes. Volunteer in Poitou Charentes, the sunniest place in France

Country

France

Favourited 128 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 16 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a lovely family who have bought a house in Charente Maritime, the 2nd sunniest place in France! when we are not picnicing, gardening, cooking lovely wholefoods, cycleing, kayaking,and walking with our lovely spaniel, we are renovating our house. We are interested in doing up houses, living lightly on the earth. We are an easy going family. we are interested in eco living and our girls are steiner educated. We have lived in Ireland, done up an old house and done an eco self build wooden house on our farm. Our latest project is an old priory with land and lakes. We have several houses to renovate so building experience particularly welcome. We always need help with animals and garden too. Its a haven of peace here.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    English and French language. Building skills . experience with animals. Permaculture.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We have several buildings to renovate, so any building experience welcome- help with renovation- building walls, plastering, painting, generally lending a hand.. any building knowledge or experience would be welcome but any help would be good!
    we also need help in the garden- cutting back ivy, clearing spaces etc. Planting etc. We often need house sitters.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I speak English and French. I love to speak french and have plenty to learn. dave needs a good bit of help as he is going for his french nationality.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a house with spare room/s with ensuite bathroom plus lots of outside space. We have 2 caravans, a wooden cabin, 4 man tent and lots of garden! So lots of places to choose from if you want luxury or to be more back to nature.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Cycling, kayaking. Trip to sea. Swim and kayak in the lake. Walk or cycle into Aulnay- 2km

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have our own camper van and plenty of space for you to park, with hook up. You are welcome to use our space too of course and share all the usual meals etc.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Well behaved dogs who dont chase chickens, ducks, cats, sheep are welcome! and who get on with our own new puppy "Pudding".

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 2877743214d9