Come and give me a hand in West Devon, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 239 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/12/2020

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm a former helpxer and wwoofer travelling around Spain and France on bicycle. I'm 32years old. My project is a new smallholding as it has only been going 3 years located in historic cob barns near the town of hatherleigh. I grow vegetables and seedlings and sell them at local market. I have 40 sheep, 4 pigs, a dog, two cats and chickens to take care of. As it is still new, things are growing and plenty of building work and carpentry that I need a hand with. I'm lucky to have artists musicians and farmers who are neighbours and we share jobs like bottling cider, baling hay etc.
    We have been building alot in cob this year as you can see our walls in the barn etc
    It would be great for people with similar interests, creative hopefully as also have a friend staying who is a florist and photographer, please note this is beautiful rural location (Highampton) and as such driving license or your own car would be advantageous. There are bikes here which you welcome to use, nearby is the ruby trail and route from meeth to braunton is great for cycling.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Experience a relaxed life in the wild west of Devon, involve in the beautiful nature and local life.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    Looking after animals, picking vegetables, sowing seeds, preparing stock for market.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In an equipped caravan.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Local transport isn't great because the location is a bit far from the center or city, nearest town is Hatherleigh where you can pick up the bus to Exeter or Okehampton the main cities.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Internet connection on 4g but unlimited

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Any size van can be parked

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    If they are well behaved and don't attack livestock

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours day, accompanied by us

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 286684349124