Help us building a wooden passive house in Amsterdam-Breukelen, Holland

  • Netherlands
  • Favourited 423 times
  • Last activity: 12/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Between Amsterdam and Utrecht we have built a new sustainable house, a so called passive house. We are Roelien (1962, pharmacist) and Cock (1960, ecologist). We travel quite a lot. We are slow-builders.
    In 2017 we realized the concrete things, like the fundation, the cellar and the concrete floor. A lot of work was placing the big amount of insulation. In 2018 we have build the wooden upperpart. And in 2019 we have done the inside with a hugh amount of loam/clay. Biobased natural materials. Heavy stuff, but very nice and satisfying. In 2020 - corona time - we have done without the help of WAW-ers (snif) the floor heating and the clay finishing. Since summer 2021 we are living in the new house. 2022 is the year that we dismantle the old house, restore the garden and hopefully we can receive new workawayers!
    Allready more then 40 workawayers have helped us. Are you the next one?

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    With workawayers we want to share our experiences with life, with travelling and so on. For us the workawayer is a part of the family. And of course together with workawayers we realise a fantastic new sustainable house. Hopefully the workawayers realise at least one nearly energy zero house at home!
    We can only accommodate non-smokers.

  • Help

    Help

    In 2022 we need help in and around the house: organising and cleaning. And for dismantling the old house: removing the installations, wooden floor and so on. And we want to do maintenance on our campingcar: an old fire truck. Removing rust, painting.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate
    Russian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation is a attic room in a seperate building and quitte basic. Like our way of life. On request it is possible to accomodate two persons. We can only accommodate non-smokers. Almost every workawayer is happy with the privacy. There is internet, you have your own toilet and the shower is in the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live 5 minutes from a railway station. Amsterdam, Utrecht and Rotterdam is reachable without stopovers. You can use a bike for exploring the surroundings. An you can use our kajaks.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Our internet and wifi is good.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Our own campervan is 8000 kgs and 7 meters.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    For every 4 hours of working, you 'earn' one day eating, sleeping and so on.

Host ref number: 282959849239

Feedback (14)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.9)
















Former fishing village, 30 mins from Amsterdam, Netherlands
Help needed in the garden in Beneden-Leeuwen, Netherlands