Volunteers with a love of the countryside to help on our organic smallholding in the small village of Niegoszowice outside Krakow NB - NO ELECTRICITY OR INTERNET!!

Country

Poland

Favourited 73 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/05/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Polish-Irish couple with dreams of self sufficiency and permaculture down the road. I am a teacher and Karolina an interpreter and translator so we like working with words. We have a smallholding about 30 mins outside of Krakow in a small village called Niegoszowice - Northwest Krakow - in the middle of the wonderfully scenic reserve of Jura krakowsko-częstochowska. We like a drink now and then and enjoy eating in our spare time! I play music and when not digging holes can gladly show you around Krakow's many watering/live music dens

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project

  • Help

    Help

    We need someone who us willing to work for at least 3 weeks with lots of initiative and gardening experience who doesn't mind getting stuck in and also helping out with the cooking/housework from time to time.

    Our little bit of land is around one third of a hectare. This year we plan to extend our organic vegetable plot, get some bees, fix the roof on our greenhouse and also start some hops off for home beer brewing.We would like to build a small straw bale house in the next couple of years. Anyone with experience of permaculture and green renovation welcomed with open arms :)

    In the summertime we are usually on the plot 3-4 days out of 7 during the week due to "work"... so for some of the time you would be expected to get by on your own.
    Anyone with a love of the countryside (it can be a little wild with insects, deer, pheasants and the odd boar) and gardening is more than welcome - season is from April (or whenever the temperature goes above 0) to the first snows but realistically June to Sep is the season.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Polish/English/Some German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a mobile home that has cooking facilities, fridge, shower, toilet and comfortable sleeping quarters. If you are looking for a country escape look no further - we do not have electricity so NO internet, lights etc - but the stars more than compensate and we light fires in the evening outside:D

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The wonderful sights of stunning Krakow lie 45 mins away reachable by minibus or train. One City that hardly needs an introduction. We will gladly share as much of our time and knowledge with people as we can. I think we are pretty decent cooks also and have a primarily vegetarian diet in summer as we eat what we grow

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    up for negotiation somewhere between 3 and 4




Host ref number: 282421128221