Looking for help with land work in Carmarthenshire, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 216 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/10/2019

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a lesbian couple with a retreat centre , here in Carmarthenshire , set in 24 acres , with woodlands and river. We are closing down during the winter months to catch up with the land work , and bring the fuel in for the houses . We are easy going ,, both Artist and sculptors , love music , nature , and good conversation . We both lived in London for many years before moving here
    We have a large artist studio , so if someone had a master piece to paint whilst here ,there is room ,with a good sound system to paint with .
    We are easy going and open minded , with positive attitudes to life .

    At the moment we are only looking for volunteers for the month of November . The help includes ,bringing up the logs from fallen trees down the river valley , coppicing , tree planting , river path building , gardening , general maintenance . We are also looking for people who would like to do some cooking for the group .

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    The help we will be needing is whilst the retreat is closed during November. We need 2 types of people , 1) someone that can cook lunch and evening meal , whilst we are working on the land . 2 ) strong and willing persons that can help with ; bringing the fallen trees from the river ( we chainsaw them down their ) and relay the logs up , so the more people the merrier .River Path building . Coppicing and crown lifting . Tree planting . Weeding . Repair fencing . General maintenance , clearing gutters etc . Repairing track and digging ditches .
    It's all physical work , but very enjoyable , and we don't ask anyone anything we can't do , ( we are over 50 )
    We are looking for positive attitude , non judgemental , keen personalities .
    5 days a week , about 4 to 5 hours a day

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    the accommodation will be in the cottage , it's centrally heated and cosy . If that gets full, it can sleep 3/4 , we have the bunkhouse that's also centrally heated .

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    the Beautiful Cardigan coast is only 1/2 hour drive from here , Carmarthen is 20 mins bus journey , the local town of Newcastle Emlyn is 6 miles away . The local area is lovely .
    We can give lifts to places if we are going in that direction , and we take the dogs to the local beaches if you needed to get to the coast .
    We have the art studio to paint or sculpt ,we have tools and workshop to create in. It is lovely land to just contemplate down the river , has a healing feel to it .
    We do have Karaoke in the studio , if you wanted to sing on your day off ,

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 281366665144