Two neighbours living in an eco-village on the island of Orust, Sweden

  • Sweden
  • Favourited 180 times
  • Last activity: 29/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are two neighbours living in an ecovillage on the island Orust in the swedish westcoast. There are 17 households in the ecovillage. Everyone owns their own house and garden, and share land for farming, some forest and community systems for taking care of cleaning the water and such. In the middle of the village we have a forestgarden, runned by a society. We have a lake close by for bathing och fishing. the two neighbours who will be your hosts are Marie, a french woman living in a cottage with her son 5 years old this year. And Annika, a swedish woman living i a tinyhouse with her daughter 6 years old this year.
    Marie has a lot of nice DIY building projects going on, and Annika has a lot of gardeningprojects. We use ecofriendly and creative methods such as buildning with clay, hempcrete, solarpanels, permaculture and similar. We are about to build a community ourdoor kitchen in the forestgarden. the ecovillage are also about to put down and old barn this summer, reusing the material building a new communityhouse on the same area. Together we have a lot of experience, education and knowlegde from these kind of things.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have a big network here with people interested in caring for the environment, gardening, arts, culture, handicraft and building with sustainable material. You will get lots of chanses to learn about these fields. Because of corona we dont spend much time having dinners, parties or events. But normally our network are good at make nice culturestuff happen such as live musik, courses, workshops, dinners, guided gardentours, exhibitions and more.


    We have friends and neighbours also having volunteers so we'll arrange working days with them: everybody at the same place for one day, you get a lot of work done! And so you'll also meet other volunteers, it could be nice.
    Once a week, you'll work at Veronika's place: they are growing organic vegetables.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like to host travellers who are not afraid of hard tasks such as dig in the soil, carry stuff around by hand or in a wheelbarrow, planting and weeding, construction and DIY all kinds. Of course special skills like carpenter och gardener are welcomed but not needed. It' s fine if you have at least two of following qualitys: handy, strong, enduring, creative, responsible or funny!

    Here are some of our summer projects:
    - building a "skafferi" (a place to keep food) >>>>>> done!
    - building a terrace >>>>> done!
    - building a greenhouse >>>>>>done!
    -Finish the isolation att Annika's
    - planting stuffs, weeding, and other gardening work >>>>never ending job!
    - building a summer kitchen in the common garden >>>> Half done! We take a pause untill we find money to a floor
    - Building verandas everywhere (we love verandas)>>>>nearly done! Thank U Kev!
    - Painting nice graffitis on our walls >>>>> the day we find a creative volunteer
    - Building a shelter for ducks
    - Get ducks :-)
    - Build a summer bathroom with outdoor shower
    -build a hut in a tree for the kids>>>>>>Done! And it's the finest in the world!
    - Bla, bla bla...

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Are you intrested in learning french? I have a 5 years old boy here that understands a lot but don't want to speak "mamma's language". Maybe you can learn together?

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Since Marie and Annika are nextdoor neighbours, we will share the host responsibility. You will be sleeping in a tinyhouse with one bedroom in Annikas garden. there are one 160cm bed, that could be turned into a sofa daytime, and one sparebed 80cm.
    As you'll sometimes be on your own, we would prefer to host couple or friends travelling together (note that you'll have to share the bedroom). You're also welcomed if you're travelling with a kid.
    The tinyhouse has Wifi.
    You will use an outdoor toilet, and the kitchen at Maries place. Washingmachine and shower at Annikas place. Annika has two dogs behind a fence in the garden. You need to let her know in advance when you need to use the shower or washingmachine, otherwise the dogs will go crazy.
    You will have breakfast and meals at Maries place.
    We will all take turns in the kitchen cooking, wash up and clean and others housework. Marie will serve all kinds of food including meat.
    The days when you help Annika she will provide the meals at her place. Annika will serve vegetarian food and sometimes fish.
    If you have special foods just ask and we take it from there.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are both enjoying the nature and can show you some nice places and trails. Mostly we just go bathing in the lake (we have a sauna!!!) or sea in sparetime. We both have cars if you need a ride somewhere, and there are bikes to lend if you like. There are canoes to use also.

    Thanks to Johanna Fraenkel-Eidse for all the beautiful pictures on our profile.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    The fiber is installed, you can catch Wi-fi from your room. The volunteers that are here now are using an amplifier.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Unfortunately dogs has to have a leach.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 629895963247

Feedback (4)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Come and join our family life among the woods and farmland in Vara, Sweden
Come and help at our family home in Floda, Sweden