1 / 5
updated  

Help around our property in Kythera, Greece

  • Favourited 154 times
  • Last activity: 25 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We have a 10 000m2 property on the magical island of Kythera, between the Peloponnese and Crete. Our home overlooks the straight between Kythera and the mainland, with a young 35-tree food forest and the first efforts in planting a vegetable garden. We have no animals (yet) but 3 ponds and lots of water and room and ideas for so much.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In your ample free time: this is the perfect place to be creative. Write a book or a screenplay, practice the visual arts, discover the island – it is perfect for hiking and "jungling adventures" and much more. We are both from the creative industries – filmmaking, book authors, designers etc., so we are always working on something fun. And the island is full of creative, interesting people from all over the world.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We don't need much help so just five hours of help a day would be expected for your room and board. Gardening (including battling with thorn bushes!), housekeeping (healthy cooking!), pruning, landscaping and perhaps soon taking care of ducks and chickens are all possible.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Danish: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Greek: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    My wife (Danish) is fluent in English, Danish and German, and would like to learn Greek (beginner) I am Australian and am fluent in English and German and speak intermediate Greek. I would like to improve my Greek too.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your would have a choice of 2 bedrooms downstairs. We have our apartment upstairs but would use the downstairs living room and kitchen together with you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    MEALS:
    The fridge is always full of good things, and we just take turns cooking. If you tell us what you like to eat we will make sure we have it (within reason). It would be good if you also enjoy cooking.

    YOUR DAY:
    We are flexible about working times but if you need a schedule, 9am until 2pm, five days a week would work best for us (but all of us cook and tidy up 7 days a week...) . Depending upon which projects are current - gardening, house-keeping, clearing bushes, building ponds and swales, planting... you would help one of us or do the job yourself. We also have a dam to maintain, and, if you like, you could help with our creative projects as well.

    THE ISLAND
    The island is a paradise, with about 40 wonderful beaches and almost no tourists outside August. Kythera is still very wild and green, with magnificent views and fascinating people – both local Greeks and the foreign community. Swimming: there is a beach about 20 minutes on a rough track from our place. On most nice days we drive down to other beaches for a swim as well if you would like to join us. Hiking: endless possibilities, on both marked and unmarked tracks. Villages: 60 villages, some of them almost deserted. The closest village with shops, Potamos, is about 12 minutes by car or over an hour by foot. There are others with beaches and cafés and more. We generally have to drive somewhere a few times a week so if you want to hike we could drop you off somewhere nice and you could discover a new part of the island.

    NEARBY
    Our property is on a hill and the nearest house if about 5 minutes walk away. We also have wonderful neighbours - a philosopher and a microbiologist - who dabble in organic farming. The dirt road from the main road down to our place - about 1.5km - is VERY rough. So not suitable for a bike.

    TRANSPORT
    We have a car which we could share depending upon the circumstances (i.e. insurance situation). We go hiking or swimming a few times a week and you could join us. There are two villages, each about 50 minutes walk away. One with a supermarket and lots of cafes, the other with a restaurant and fresh water springs.

    ENERGY
    We are off-grid with a PV system and lots of batteries. It is more than enough for normal use.

    WHAT YOU SHOULD KNOW:
    Neither of us is particularly "spiritual" or have esoteric leanings. People who like yoga and meditation are very welcome, but if you are into crystal therapy or anti-vax or "sensitive to 5G-radiation" then you probably wouldn't be happy staying with us.

    ONLY NON-SMOKERS PLEASE!

    LENGTH OF STAY
    In the beginning we would host you for a few weeks. If we get along you could stay for longer. You can get an idea of the beauty of Kythera from the trailers from my films at . We are a multinational family – Danish, Australian, Greek, Swedish, Swiss, English – who have lived in Berlin for many years and are slowly resettling on Kythera.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have Starlink (but hate Elon Musk) which is more than fast enough for most purposes - 100 download but only about 7 upload.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    A camper van or similar could be parked at the bottom of our property.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    My wife is allergic to cats, yet we have two wild ones which regularly visit. So no cats inside but outside it would work. Dogs are fine. Crocodiles and snakes less so.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 279846789287

Photos

Feedback

Stay at our non-profit animal sanctuary and help us take care of the animals in Kallikratia, Greece
Join our family and help with daily chores while immersing yourself in Greek culture and lifestyle in Poria Kastorias