Help with a permaculture project and experience rural life in El Perello, Spain

Country

Spain

new host  

Favourited 10 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/06/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, I'm Fran and have recently moved to a small finca in Catalunya and need your help!
    We are totally off-grid (solar power & well water), which means treading lightly on the planet - careful use of water and power. The household includes Dave the cat, Dulce the dog, five chickens - Louise, Dolores, Chookie, Deirdre and Darlene, plus around 40 budgies (it’s a long story!). We all rub along very well indeed, (although Dave would like to get a closer look at the budgies). The plan is to add 2 donkeys to the menagerie, however, before this can happen we need to build a strawbale/cob shelter and put up fencing to keep those little escapologists at home.

    I am setting up a permaculture project from a fairly sterile base. The finca itself has 160 olive trees, 40 carob trees and 50 almond trees, plus 3 veggie beds. The ground has been compacted over years and now needs lots of organic material added, plus love and hard labour in order to bring it back to health. Part of the plan is to build swales, the donkeys will also graze the terraces in order to keep plants under control and fertilise as they go.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Keen to meet a range of nationalities for general chat and learn about one another, particularly on things permaculture. Also nice to cook typical national dishes for one another, (but not necessary).

    The area is very beautiful, beaches nearby nearby and acres of forest, plus mountains within reach. The train to Barcelona/Valencia is just 6km away. Hiking, biking, swimming, kicking back in the sun - the world is your whelk!

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening, Swale Digging, Animal Care, Harvesting, General Maintenance, Strawbale Building, Cooking. Sheet Mulching, Pruning, Setting up Irrigation

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am happy to help visitors to improve their English, but equally happy to speak in my basic, but improving Spanish or French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room, (unless traveling with someone) with bathroom shared with one other bedroom, plus a kitchenette if wanted, although the intention would be to eat together in the main kitchen/on the terrace. I will provide 3 plant-based meals a day and would expect help in prepping/cleaning up.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The nearest village is 4km away, as is the sea, (different directions). It is incredibly peaceful, surrounded by pine forest. Since there is very little light pollution the night time skies tend to be amazing and it’s good to see the last of the daylight from the 1st floor terrace, (maybe with a drink in hand).
    There are bikes if you wish to go to the beach, (the swimming pool is currently out of commission & not sure when it will be fixed) or local villages.
    Wifi is pretty good, although not up to steaming films - on the other hand I do have a few DVDs we can project outside for a little home cinema or you could bring your own DVDs. There is no TV.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have decent wi-fi, although there are times when it can go down all across the local area, so no guarantees. Equally the mobile signal is pretty good.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have space next to the house for camper vans as well as an outside shower and loo, (although you are welcome to use the indoor facilities if you prefer)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 584578281657