General help mucking in and mucking around in Devon, 😁😁UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 282 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    796

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi 😁 thanks for taking the time to drop by- I've had a break from here for a while partly for obvious reasons but also as we have been having some quiet time whilst the planning department made up their minds lol.
    We have a beautiful small piece of land near Exeter in Devon of about one and a 'alf acres. We are self building on a budget living off grid our ultimate aim to be as self sufficient as possible. There are 4 of us here a big friendly ginger dogue , a shihtzu a little jack and jasper the cat.

    We have just had said planning permission approved ...eventually 😁😁- we are putting in a 2nd access point, 4 residential plots and have permission to build a hex shaped communal utility building. This is all very exciting - will be tackling it all in baby steps as funds, time and my mental health dictates hahaha

    I will be the first to admit the land has rather aken on the feel of a wildlife reserve this year- due to a combo of lack of time (I have been working v.hard fundraising) and broken machinery lol. This is ok i like it just shorter on harvestables than I'd like this year.i have lush new raised beds which when the new entrance comes will be filled with fresh compost- I intend on using these as nursery beds for fruit/ hedging cuttings for the forest garden area and general landscaping after the heavy machinery has done its worst lol.

    A practical mind and a willingness to learn and have a go would be of great benefit to anyone wanting to come stay here, these qualities have got me where i am today!!

    You would share some meals with us in exchange for 15 odd flexible hrs a week. I would prefer a 4+week commitment as I find this works better but would also welcome longer term guests. We are rural but not remote. We don't have a direct bus but are very well connected from our local town.

    We have a choice of 3 caravans atm- we can be flexible on work times, shared meals etc..there is potential for longer more independent kind of stays if that something you're looking for.

    There is plenty of space to park your own mobile home/ camper if that is what you would like to do, and actually i think during the winter months this i would prefer. I will always welcome guests that prefer to live more independently on the land. Maybe you need a base for a little bit and can come bring me some tales of your travels and adventures.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers can hope to experience what it is to live in a low budget, on a shoestring, mend and make do off grid enviroment with the highs and lows that go with it. I have aquired a lot of skills and information over the years although i am master of none i am happy to share and equally happy to learn.

  • Help

    Help

    I have lots of ideas and am very privileged to be in a position when its more possible to realise some of those dreams for me than for most, but there just aren't the hrs in the day!!!


    really we are just looking for lively, enthusiastic, practical people to come muck in and hang out. I would love some skilled tradespeople,plumbers, sparkys, carpenters, builders, plasterers etc obviously but anyone just willing to get stuck in and help me with the land would be very welcome.

    I would consider a longer term stay obviously if we are all happy

    if you would like to know more send us a email (or however it works)



    look forward to hearing from you

    Nickee and Family

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    'Accommodation could be in a caravan, !! fully equipped with woodburner, 12v lighting system. Alternatively you are obviously welcome to bring your own camper- We are off grid bar a mains water supply but do have wifi. We're pretty basic here and I think it would be useful if anyone interested in staying has experience or knowledge of living a basic close to nature lifestyle.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    unfortunately we are not on a direct bus route into town but cullompton is only a couple miles and its a nice walk or cycle if you dont drive. we are near exeter but bristol is only a short train trip away with all that it has to offer. devon has beautiful coastlines and moorlands to explore, although i quite like hanging at home with my friends in the sun at weekends and you would be more than welcome to join us :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    15/20 odd hrs a week










Host ref number: 279114426778