Enjoy a multicultural and quintessential British family and help with our young child in rural Dorset, UK

  • United Kingdom
  • Favourited 186 times
  • Last activity: 4 Dec 2023



 Min stay requested: 1 month or more



  • Description



    We are a small family of three; myself, my wife, and our 2 year old daughter Mili. Our home is in a rural village in Dorset (in the UK). It's within what's known as the "Piddle Valley".

    We live next door to my parents, my sister and her children. My sister keeps a big vegetable garden in the paddock between the houses and there are also chickens, and ducks being kept there too.

    Before the paddock, there's a big lawn and my parents maintain a beautiful English garden with flower beds with shrubs, bedding plants and lots of roses. In spring the daffodils are out in force, and the garden evolves as the year progresses.

    Our main task for the work away person is to have someone to help us with our daughter, Mili. We'd like a minimum of four hours each day (except Sunday), helping with her.

    Most of the work will be child centric in and there could be a variety of other odd jobs which will also come up.

    Please note that drivers are preferable, and we can give access to a car.

    We typically offer lunch daily at our house, but you can do your own breakfasts and dinners.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange options are wide and diverse : ).

    My wife is Manipuri, a north eastern state in India, and so you can get to know more about Manipuri's,
    my sister's husband funnily enough is also Indian, but he's from Andra Pradesh and a keen motorbiker!
    My sister is an avid permaculture gardener and runs the veg patch for the family
    My parents are good English folk, traditional and proper!
    My wife is a keen yoga instructor, and we are both keen on spiritual practices,
    I am a huge walker and eagerly walk and run around the beautiful Dorset countryside.
    We all love a wild swim too, and head out for wild swims to the coast and rivers in the summer quite regularly
    My elder nephew is football mad, and his younger brother likes to play a lot
    Mili has an intense stare, is super happy, and cute and has lots to learn!
    We're a well read family, so there's always a book around if needed

  • Au pair

    Au Pair Help

    This host has let us know they’ll be complying with UK regulations for au pair stays.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Our primary aim is to find someone to help us with our 2 year old daughter. We need some help for about four hours a day, excluding Sunday, with Mili.

    We'd not want to be too prescriptive as we're sure you'll come with your own ideas but to give you a flavour of our days -

    A typical day for you might be having breakfast in the studio, coming over to our cottage at around 9am to take Mili for a few hours until around 12/ 12.30.

    Now she's getting a little older we think more constructive/ planned play and activities are beneficial for her and this is very much focused in and around using hands, body and ideally being as outdoors as possible.

    She's a social little thing, and playgroups are becoming a valuable social time. By 12 we'll probably have lunch ready (typically you can eat with us), and Mili will be ready for a nap, so there's a break and then after lunch we'll ask you to do a little more help for an hour or so at some point, usually around 5pm before dinner for an hour or so.

    Additionally there might be odd jobs like popping into the shops, or helping with driving if you're comfortable with driving cars.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Hindi: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    You will be staying in a ground floor studio flat which was the old dairy. It's a very large open plan room with a double bed, a separate bathroom with shower and sink plus a small kitchen with an electric oven, hob and microwave. It has a small terrace outside as well. (see photos in the profile)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We can provide access to a car which is likely to be helpful when you want to go elsewhere.

    The place is in Central Dorset, and has some beautiful countryside and coast - for walking, running, cycling etc
    Our place is on the road but it's a beautiful house and garden which is peaceful and quiet
    There is very limited local bus transport, so a car or a driving license is important, if not critical

    We're looking for someone, to help out with our daughter Mili. So our expectation is that you will be quite good with young children, enjoy time with them, and then are happy to live a quiet rural existence in your free time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    My wife and I work in tech, so we have the requisite fibre connection and a studio flat we have is a great workspace too.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There's space to put a van, but ideally it would not be too big!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 279113274381

Feedback (3)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Registered non-profit farm in Rankinston near Ayr, Scotland
Join our family on a permaculture farm on the Isle of Wight, U.K