Help us to create paradise as we transform an old horse farm near Monpazier, Dordogne, France

Country

France

Favourited 15 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/08/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there, we are a Scottish/English couple living in the beautiful Dordogne countryside within walking distance of Monpazier, one of France's prettiest villages.

    In 2019 we bought an old horse farm with 10 acres of pasture and set about renovation of the farmhouse and conversion of the old barn While we have artisans doing the most challenging construction work, there is still plenty to do on the building work, plus general maintenance of the buildings and the land.

    We are both easy going, friendly and sociable people with a strong believe in the importance of a good work/life balance. The first thing we did when we arrived was put in a swimming pool, so we can enjoy a swim and a pool-side drink at the end of a good days work.

    We are really looking forward to hosting some great people, who will bring energy, fun and stories of their own adventures into our home.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There is a broad european community living all around us, the Dordogne sometimes feels like a mini-europe. Our closest neighbours are Dutch and of course French. Monpazier has quite a good cultural mix while still retaining the true essence of a small French Village. The village hosts lots of cultural events through the summer including regular markets, concerts, historic events and was recently used as a location in a Hollywood blockbuster film, The Last Duel (which we haven't seen yet!)

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for 1 , 2 or 3 people who are happy to help us right now ? We are busy renovating our farmhouse and the old barn There are plenty of jobs to be done and a few more hands to help would be fantastic. If you like any of the following we would love to hear from you, gardening/ design, landscaping, fence building, wood cutting, painting, interior design. cooking and carpentry,

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    We would like to develop our French and would be delighted to help with English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have a private bedroom with a double bed and single bed. We would provide all meals for you , but if you wished to cook for yourself then you would have the flexibility to do this too.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We would be more than happy if you have a dog, there are lovely walks through the woods and a GR walking route at our property boundary edge.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 274285883321