Come if you are interested in DIY projects and kitesurfing just outside the center of Schiedam, Netherlands

Country

Netherlands

Favourited 108 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/05/2022

  • Badges

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! I'm a mechanical engineer and I live in a cute house just outside the center of Schiedam. I'm easy going, I like to go kitesurfing (and I can teach you, if you like! see more description below), going for a walk or a run, cooking and trying new food and learning / discovering how technical things work. As a child I grew up in Congo, Mozambique and Cambodia because of development work of my parents. This background has formed me into a multi-cultural person and I like to get to know people and their backgrounds, as well as language exchange.

    My place is spacious enough to easily host a workawayer. I have a peaceful garden and the house is situated in a very quiet street. At the same time, getting to Rotterdam or Amsterdam is very easy from my house, since it's at walking distance from the train station. So if you like to explore the cities of the Netherlands, and at the same time have a peaceful, quiet living experience, this could be a good match.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I always look to connect with people from all over the world, as I've lived in several different countries. We could go explore the canals and the windmills in Schiedam, and also Rotterdam, since it's very close by.

    And, as mentioned before, if you are interested to learn kitesurfing, I can be your personal teacher for free. My former students can testify that they learn much quicker than from expensive group lessons ;) I have all the equipment, including wetsuits to keep you warm.

  • Help

    Help

    At the moment I'm doing some renovations in my house, such as installing a new floor, tiling a bathroom, insulation and painting. It would be wonderful if you have some experience in construction and if you can do this with precision. Especially a creative and proactive attitude is beneficial, so that we can learn things together and do tasks as a team. If you are in doubt, feel free to reach out and we can just see what's possible.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I like to learn new languages!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Family-type house with 2 floors, and a garden. The guest room is situated on the top floor, facing the garden, and is furnished. I can provide all the food, and I'm a good cook ;)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Total 20 hours per week.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 271591486919