Join our family at our secluded barn home in Midi Pyrenees, France

Country

France

Favourited 27 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 6: 2 adults (Baptiste and Claire) and 4 children (Emile 5 years old, Justin 8 years old, Léon 10 years old and Aline 13 years old). We live in a secluded barn 1200m above sea level. Access to the barn is from the village of Ardengost (Hautes-Pyrénées) by a hiking trail (200 m drop, about 25 min). We have 4 donkeys, 10 sheep, chickens, and a large vegetable garden. A multitude of hikes with panoramic views of the Pyrenees range are possible from the barn.

    -----

    Nous sommes une famille de 6 personnes: 2 adultes (Baptiste et Claire) et 4 enfants (Emile 6 ans, Justin 9 ans, Léon 11 ans et Aline 14 ans). Nous vivons dans une grange isolée à 1200 m d'altitude. L'accès à la grange se fait depuis le village d'Ardengost (Hautes-Pyrénées) par un sentier de randonnée (200 m de dénivelée, environ 25 min). Nous avons 4 ânes, 10 brebis, des poules, et un grand jardin potager. Une multitude de randonnées avec vue panoramique sur la chaîne des Pyrénées sont possibles depuis la grange.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Teaching
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in an exceptional mountain environment and we will be delighted to pass on our knowledge and our passion for the mountains. We would be delighted to be able to discover your language and culture and make you discover ours. I sing, play guitar and accordion and I would love to share this pleasure with you if you are a musician.

    -----

    Nous vivons dans un environnement montagnard exceptionnel et nous serons ravis de transmettre notre connaissance et notre passion pour la montagne. Nous serions ravis de pouvoir découvrir votre langue et votre culture et vous faire découvrir les nôtres. Je chante, joue de la guitare et de l'accordéon et je serais ravie de partager ce plaisir avec vous si vous êtes musicien(ne).

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Our children are home schooled. Baptiste being absent from the barn half of the week we want to welcome someone to help me with all or some of the following tasks: meal preparation, children's schooling, play with the children, animal care, gardening. We welcome help from March to June 2021.

    -----

    Nos enfants sont scolarisés à domicile. Baptiste étant absent de la grange la moitié de la semaine nous souhaitons accueillir quelqu'un pour m'aider à toutes ou certaines des tâches suivantes: préparation des repas, scolarité des enfants, jeu avec les enfants, soin aux animaux, jardinage. Nous avons besoin d'aide sur la période mars à juin 2021.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We propose to welcome you either in the pastoral hut which is 70 m from the barn so that you benefit from greater privacy, or in a separate room in the barn where we live. We will prepare and share meals in the barn. We have internet in the barn and the telephone is outside.

    -----

    Nous proposons de vous accueillir soit dans la cabane pastorale qui se trouve à 70 m de la grange afin que vous bénéficiez d'une plus grande intimité, soit dans une chambre à part dans la grange où nous vivons. Nous préparerons et partagerons les repas dans la grange. Nous avons internet à la grange et le téléphone capte au dehors.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Mountain hiking is the main leisure activity here. The whole massif of the central Pyrenees (Néouvielle, Luchonnais and a little further on Gavarnie) are easily accessible by car.

    -----

    La randonnée en montagne est la principale activité de loisirs ici. Tout le massif des Pyrénées centrales (Néouvielle, Luchonnais et un peu plus loin Gavarnie) sont facilement accessibles avec une voiture.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 271582847754