Come and volunteer in my small organic garden. Feel at home in Diest, Belgium

Country

Belgium

Favourited 32 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/09/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Liesbeth, I am retired. I live on my own in Molenstede (a village near to the city of Diest) since my husband passed away a few years ago. I have a garden and like gardening, but could use some extra helping hands. I'm very open minded and like to talk with people of different backgrounds.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am interessted in yoga (practice yoga more than 25 years). I like reading. I sing in a choir. I am volunteer in a school with children who have a disability. I'd like to crochet.
    Spend time outdoors, practise languages, get to visit nearby areas (nature reserve) full of history and culture.

  • Help

    Help

    Help with weeding, planting, digging, in the biological small vegetable garden and greenhouse. Making organic compost. Pruning the raspberrys, other berries. Pruning the trees (grape, apple, hazel-tree, ... ) and hedges. Occasionally grass cutting. Cleaning small flower garden, small rock garden. Trim bonsai trees.
    You need to like nature and plants, no knowledge is needed.
    I very enjoy volunteers from Austria, because my husband was an Austrian. I like to practice my Austrian language. Volunteers from other countries are also very welcome. I am looking for the same minded people to share not only work together, but also some of the free time - with nice food, tea, chatting, changing experiences.
    Usually I need help from half februari -> november: every year.

    I can cook for you, I prefer organic mails, I can cook vegetarian if you want. If you like, we can cook together and exchange recipes.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Dutch, German, little bit French, little little bit English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Two rooms available. 1 X double bed. 1 X bunk bed. We share bathroom and toilets. Also if you want you can stay outside in your own tent. Breakfast, lunch and dinner available. Possibility to wash clothes. I have two bikes that can be used.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The city of Diest is at approximatly 4 km. It is a very nice city with medieval roots. One of the highlights is its 'Begijnhof' (Beguinage), protected by UNESCO as world heritage.

    Nature reserve: Dassenaarde is right next door, with plenty of biking and hiking possibilities.

    Transport: the train station (Diest) is at 1.8km from my house. It has regular connections to Leuven, Hasselt, Brussels, ... . At 900m there's a bus stop. Busses from Diest to Geel pass regularly.

    Halve maan: at approximatly 4 km there is a very nice open air swimming pool

    Diest has plenty of shops, and every wednesday morning there is a market.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, 2-5 days a week

Part of the garden.
Liesbeth
My bonsai trees.
Greenhouse and vegetable garden.
Host ref number: 271365316965