Experience small scale organic farming combined with ceramic atelier on family farm in Strandebarm, Norway



Favourited 244 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 25 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Family of four, small farm with sheep and poultry, a ceramic workshop with a large wood fired kiln. Francois (French) and Linda(norwegian), both ceramists of profession. Linda has background from a mountain farm and exams in agricultural. Linda has travelled around for many years,making ceramics, building kilns and also volunteering. We recently bought a run down farm with old wooden houses, and are in the process of restoring these. Our project is to offer ceramic courses and have people visit the farm and workshop, and be self sufficient and run the farm mainly with permaculture and organic farming principles. We have hosted woofers for many years and find it is a great exchange. We speak french, english and norwegian. You live in comfortable cabin , we prepare lunch together, you cook breakfast and dinner. We supply good food, mainly organic and local.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can teach you about farming and the way of life in the countryside of Norway. Vegetable and fruit growing, animal care , and about ceramics. The area we live in by the Hardanger fjord is great for outdoor activities, hiking, fishing etc.

  • Help


    The tasks are varied . It is good if you have some experience with manual work. Great advantage if you like animals, as we have many of them. Carpentry skills are welcome, gardening skills and knowledge about fruit trees also. But not absolutely necessary!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    french, english, norwegian

  • Accommodation


    Independant cabin with private bedroom and shared kitchen. Shower and toilet is at the main house. broadband wifi . We supply all food you need

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We like to live close to nature and to use the great outdoor opportunities we have around here. You can go down to the fjord to fish or swim, or hike in the mountains and camp our. It is great if you are independent and like to be in quiet beautiful surroundings. The closest city is 2 hrs away , bus connections are good. We have a local shop and bank

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    No more than 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 266764281691