Come and help at our Homestead in Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 55 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    You have now stumbled upon your dream workaway situation! We are a big extended family sharing a large beautiful property in the Cowichan Valley on Vancouver Island where we have created an "eco-homestead". We have large gardens, a house that is being expanded as well as other building projects and five children that we could use help with. We are very into food and music and friends so do a lot of entertaining (when health restrictions allow!). We are a very busy household with lots of activities and visitors so there is never a dull moment. If you are looking for an opportunity to experience an open-minded, artistic, ecologically-minded family then this is your place.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love to share our food and stories with you. Even though we are remote we have an extended community of interesting people who gather at our place regularly to share food and play music. We are unusual in that we live in an "extended-family" kind of community and have unusual and different eco-buildings on our property. We like good conversation and you will get lots of opportunity to practice english.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with weeding, amending, planting, mulching, watering and harvesting our gardens. Possibly some landscaping or other chores that need a good back (chopping wood?). We are also building an extension on our house and a bathhouse outbuilding so if you have building skills great! There are four older boys aged 11-16 and a 20 month old. The older boys are pretty self-sufficient but sometimes need rides places. The 20 month old is very cute and very busy and we'd love some help watching him.

    We have large gardens that we eat from most of the summer. We love cooking and eat delicious, plentiful (non-vegetarian) meals. We do a lot of canning and preserving at the end of the summer. There is always help needed in the kitchen...

    We enjoy music (listening and playing) and good conversation and value a sense of humour, initiative, and joy-full nature. A strong back, crafty hands or experience with wood would definitely be an asset. We prefer a longer stay- three or four weeks but will consider any length.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    We speak English and French and are happy to share our languages.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a rustic trailer that was recently renovated with a small bed (big enough for a couple who don't mind being cozy!). There is a small table with a bench on each side. We provide clean bedding and a heater when it's cold. There is a solar outdoor shower and composting toilet. Breakfasts and sometimes lunch are generally help-yourself from our kitchen but we cook dinner and eat as a family. There is always plentiful healthy food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a long way out a gravel road so having your own transportation can be helpful though not necessary as we drive to town regularly. We are a short walk to the famous Kinsol Trestle over the Koksilah River, and there are bikes you can borrow to explore. The Trans-Canada Trail runs through our property. It is a reasonable bike ride to the lake or to town (Duncan).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Our internet is not the best but folks here have been able to work from home on and off.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 266363157764