Help us with daily tasks in the garden and food forest in Älmhult, Sweden

  • Favourited 52 times
  • Last activity: 25 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi there!
    We are a couple Nena and Kai with a one-and-a-half-year-old boy living on a small homestead in southern Sweden.

    We've been living on our property for almost 5 years now and our ultimate goal is to live as self-sufficient as possible, inspiring and inviting community where we are as well as sharing knowledge and skills .

    We grow as much of our veggies as we can, but also forage wild berries, herbs and mushrooms.

    We mostly eat game meat from the forest that Kai hunts, but also eggs from the chickens and the chickens themselves.

    We grow our gardens as biodiverse as we can using cover cropping sourcing woodchips from our forest and meadow hay/grass clippings together with compost mixed with biochar.

    We mix old small-scale farming knowledge with “modern” automation technology for a life not bound by too many daily chores

    The food forest project is naturally still in the early stages, as this takes decades to reach full bloom, but there is indicator plants already planted to find out where the plants thrive and where they do not, and there is hundreds of walnut, heartnut, hickory, hazelnut, berry bushes etc to plant out as well as fencing to put up.

    And so the tasks we need help with revolve around all of the above and
    Since the previous owners did not do much maintaining of the place there is renovations/modernization going on, and there is the infrastructure for a progressive homestead in the making as well as landscaping to be done in favor for biodiversity

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you would like to spend time in a calm forest environment, this is for you! We will take care of the garden and the forest together, you have a wonderful chance to enjoy Swedish nature as well as spend time together in a nice community

  • Help

    Help

    We live on a small farm in the South of Sweden, 15 minutes drive from the city of Älmhult (IKEA's hub)
    Right now we have 13 chickens, and a garden as well as 7ha of forest land.
    We would love to get help with the daily tasks in the garden, like planting and maintaining the veggies. We will also be planting fruit and nut trees so help with that is appreciated. We need a lot of help with managing the forst as well, we will be planing a new forest.
    Building, painting, and renovating around the house is also an option if that is of interest to you.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Macedonian: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    Finnish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Room in a shared house, access to sauna and pond, bikes and canoe

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 262226486276

Feedback (12)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.8)















Family run campsite at lake Åsunden in Ulricehamn, Sweden
Join in fun on the farm in Sweden