Help with the housework and gardening on our cattle and sheep farm on the Isle of Seil, Scotland, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 243 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are looking for general help with housework, cooking and gardening on our cattle and sheep farm. Located on the Isle of Seil, we run about 300 sheep and 140 cattle and need help with house work and cooking, painting the house and general odd jobs.

    My husband (Seumas) and I (Avril) have run the farm for over 30 years, and with myself working full time at the local school and our kids living away from home we are needing some help with tasks around the house, dusting, hoovering and setting the open fire in the sitting room and in the garden with weeding and grass cutting etc.

    We would love someone who isn't scared of animals as we have dogs and cats. You would have the opportunity to see cows/calves, sheep and lambs around the farm. On days that there is little to do inside you would have the possibility to help Seumas outside.

    We are located 16 miles from Oban ,on the Isle of Seil, connected by a bridge ,with plenty of local buses and only 3 hours by train from Glasgow. We drive into Oban a few times a week so we can drop you off/pick you up and show you where the shops are. We have two pubs on the island and our next island always has plenty of famous Scottish bands playing. It also hosts the World Stone Skimming Championships. Oban has plenty of pubs, shops and a ceilidh hall.

    We have a private flat attached to the house so you would have your own double bedroom and livingroom with Sky TV. We have two bathrooms and a large kitchen with Aga that you would be free to use. We do have cats that live in the house.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Having lived in Scotland all our lives we know most areas very well so can guide you in the right directions if you are looking to see this part of the world. Seumas has a wide variety of agricultural knowledge for anyone willing to gain knowledge in this field. We have enjoyed having people from all over the world staying with us and learning new recipes, we have especially enjoyed meals prepared by the travellers, learning about life and politics of their country. We try to find out what workaways want to achieve with their visit to Seil from people wanting to research their family tree on other islands, Scottish culture /history and farming techniques ie sheepdog training.

  • Help

    Help

    Laundry, house keeping, gardening, painting, grass cutting, feeding dogs, and other animal care and general help.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private flat with own front door. Double bedroom and living room with Sky TV are private but bathrooms and kitchen are part of the house. We would provide you with food to prepare your own breakfast and lunch. We would like to share dinner with you so this would either be cooked by Avril or yourselves and eaten together. We understand the need for both time together and allowing you to have your own time. We do have pretty fast wifi in the main house and a open fire in the main living room. The main house is older so can be cold sometimes, at night we do have the fire on so it warms up for the night. We do provide electric blankets too!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During your time off there is plenty to explore on the island and in Oban. During long spells off we would encourage you to go explore other islands off the coast which we can help you with.

    Seumas does work away from the farm quite frequently so there may be times you will have the opportunity to accompany him. I work 10 minutes down the road so if there are emergencies I am not far away.

    Our son lives outside of Oban so comes down every so often as he is a joiner in the area. Our daughters live in Edinburgh so you would have connections over there if you did want to visit, we do go across every so often to see them.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)















Host ref number: 262168812669

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more