Come and volunteer for a family in an historical small country town in Victoria, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 9 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/09/2018

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Marie & I love meeting new people and love showing off our beautiful part of the world with historical gold rush small towns within easy reach. We have a 23 year old son whom we are very proud. He is studying & working with his girlfriend in Australia's Capital, Canberra. He visits regularly. We believe in leaving the world as a better place....which is against the current trend of most world leaders. We live in a close community where there are plenty of like minded people trying to make this a special place to live and hopefully an example to the world.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Farmstay
    Helping with Tourists

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in an incredible small country town community where old families who have lived here for generations accept the recent arrivals. We are a sustainable town where we know how to get things done to benefit the community.

    You will be immersed into Australian Culture by a welcoming town by experiencing both the tolerant values of the lifestyle tree changers and the old values tradesmen / trades women.

    You will also get to immerse yourself in english if this is your second language as well as pickup some Australian slang and colloquialisms.

  • Help

    Help

    We have two locations where we need help. Renovation of a 1901 small house to a point where it can accommodate BnB guests. It has heritage overlay regarding its exterior. .The other property is 100 acre farm close bye. While we are not registered organic we believe in the principles. We are rehabilitating the soil, it's fertility and capturing carbon within while increase its moisture retention. Handling animals, fencing, non toxic weed management, interact with BnB guests. All the while enjoying our amazing wildlife like the Kangaroos who visit us most days, colourful parrots, possums and many more. In fact we are serious about maintaining a wildlife refuge.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Shared bedroom with a possible other volunteers. Partake in family meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are within easy reach of other historical towns. 40 mins away from Bendigo a large regional town also with a lot of goldrush history and impressive historical buildings from that period.
    Melbourne one of the two largest Australian cities is 1.5hours away train.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 261744946152