Help us with regeneration and permaculture project in Sandomil, Portugal

Country

Portugal

new host  

Favourited 4 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/09/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi,
    My partner Marla and I are starting a huge permaculture regeneration project in Portugal. We are reforesting land with the native species, that was once a Pine plantation. We are rebuilding some of the ruins and making a large forest garden to grow food and medicine. Marla is a herbalist so she is preparing to grow a big medicine garden. There is a river at the bottom of the land which needs gentle loving care-taking and we may also find some hidden spots to build sacred spaces into. We are vegetarian (mostly vegan) and we love to make tasty and fresh food each day. We don't drink alcohol but there is a river bar only a 10 minute cycle ride away (we have bikes you can use)!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Being part of a restoration project. We are nature awareness advocates and spend time being still listening to what nature needs. Marla loves sharing and talking about medicinal plants. We love listening and hearing other peoples experiences and what makes people happy. We have spring water a plenty on our land to drink too.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for builders, carpenters, cabinet makers, eco-builders and designers for building projects. We would love to do eco-builds and use alternative building techniques. We are also looking for gardeners, and people who are bright and happy to do different tasks, anything from gardening, shopping, path making and lots of cutting back so we can see the land more clearly.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Portuguese: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bell tent and Tipi tent until some restoration projects are complete.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live near a beautiful big river that is a short distance away, it joins the smaller river on our land and they are plenty of swimming spots a short cycle ride away. There is also the Serra De Estrella Natural Park with beautiful mountains and rivers, a wonderful place to walk in nature. It is called Serra De Estrella, which means Mountain of Stars in English. The mountain twinkles with quartz crystal and is very beautiful.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 258728339746