Join a family of 4 in the haute Pyrenees



Favourited 484 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Top Host
  • Description


    NOTE : please note that if you contact us and we reply, if we have not heard from you in 7 days then we will delete the request. This is due to the enormous number of applications we get..

    We are an english family of 4 undertaking the great renovation game here in the haute pyrenees. We have 2 daughters (both completely bilingual)both characters!We are animal crackers and have a few of everything ( or so it seems) including 6 dogs of varying ages and stages! We also foster puppies from the local refuge, which can be fun, noisy and messy!!!

    There is loads of work here for the expert or the beginner and in exchange we can offer accommodation in a new wood cabin with a woodburner, a seperate bathroom and with a view of the pyrenees.

    We are mainly English speaking.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    All sorts of help including collecting and cutting wood, land maintainance, help with potager, fencing, lime plastering, building, .....the list goes on and on.....generally anything and everything that may crop up on a smallholding.... this has involved bottle feeding a couple of lambs and nursing orphan chicks and ducklings back to health!!!
    You have to be able to work independantly, and be self motivated

    The main focus of work for this year will be building work. This will range from digging footings, limecrete mixing, bricklaying, concreting, painting, lime plaster work on columbage house. If you have stamina and want a challenge then this might be just what you are looking for. There will also be the usual maintainance jobs around the place.

    With our previous workaways we have lime plastered the outside eating barn and cleared the plants and weeds around the pond, which was a job and a
    half!We have built walls, and wooden cabins, done fencing, repaired buildings and most recently completely rebuilt a 7m section of our roof, from the beams to the tiles. We have built more beds in the potager, dug holes upon holes upon holes and generally had a great time.

    We expect you to be part of our family and after the working day is done, if you love to cook then we would love you to help out with that or if not we would expect that you help clear or set for dinner.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    A wood cabin in the orchard with proper beds!!! And the use of all the facilities in an adjoining wooden shower block.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This area of France is rural farm land. Beautiful and interesting! We Are an hour from the ski resorts and mountain sports including climbing , parascending, walking and mountain biking. Plus we are on the tour de France route so each year it passes very close to our village. We have a lovely international community in our village. There is a swimming lake within a few minutes drive or 20 min cycle away and a pool in the local town which is always clean!!!!
    Toulouse, Pau, and Tarbes are all within an hour from us, and Barcelona is a train ride away too.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected


Host ref number: 258358542445