Help out at our homestead that is dairy goat focused in beautiful Kamloops, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 20 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/02/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    438

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Come experience a homesteading lifestyle in a historical 1860's log home in beautiful interior of British Columbia, Canada. We have a herd of 30 dairy goats where we milk twice a day, raise free-range chickens for meat and eggs, raise a cow, lambs and pigs for meat and enjoy Tucker the horse, because every farm needs a great horse! We also have large gardens and a small orchard where we spend a lot of time battling weeds and process all sorts of goodies from the bounty we grow. We also have four small children that are pretty free-range and are learning to be helpful but not quite there yet. There are 8 small homes on our 6 acre farm and have our own little community here, but there are always so many projects, we would love to have some help and in turn will provide yummy healthy meals in a unique setting.

    We are only 10mins to town and our farm has river and park access for fun evenings at the beach after a hard days work.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have a little bit of everything here on our farm and travellers will get to experience a lot of the homesteading lifestyle from making our own milk, cheese, eggs, beef, lamb, pork, chicken, apple sauce and juice, garden produce and hopefully have some honey from our first hive this year. We work like slaves for our animals but eat like kings and have a good time relaxing at the beach after a hard day's work. We are also close to Kamloops and Sun Peaks and will also be attending a few fall fairs showing our goats which travellers would be welcome to come along.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people that can stay on task with minimal supervision in projects like moving sprinklers, weeding the garden, stalling temporary electric fencing and minor repairs, weed wacking, help with daily animal chores like mucking stalls, cleaning buckets and filling water, feeding, possibly milking and other animal care (to work along side me) etc.. We make most of our food from scratch and often it results a pile of dishes and would like help with dinner prep and clean up as well. We do have four children and some minor kid supervision would also be helpful.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Travellers will be staying in the bottom suite of a historical log home that was originally built in 1860. The suite is to accomodate 2 travellers but is an open concept/bachelor suite set up; two twin beds but not in seperated rooms. Full kitchen and bathroom with shower only. There is a single tenant above so some consideration for nighttime noise level is required. Our farm is located on a high-use railway line so railway noise is to be expected.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 258292831725