Organic Project for systemic change in Pennsylvania, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 6 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/06/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are starting an organic project and welcome all who are called to consciously contribute to the project.
    We are located in northwestern Pennsylvania during the months of June to September. From October to May we are located in Patagonia, Chile. The approach here is interdisciplinary and wholistic. The objective of the project is systemic cultural transformation.

    The farm here in Pennsylvania is managed by my family. I am here only during the summer months here, when it is winter in Chile.
    I grew up here but I lived in Chile for the past 6 years. I speak English and Spanish. I am a vegetarian and a non-smoker. I taught Kundalini yoga and English but now I devote much of my time to organic agriculture, linguistics, functional analysis, and interdisciplinary research.

    We aim to live consciously with Mother Earth. Through organic practices and awareness, we are organizing to transcend the limits of the conventional thinking and practices that are creating disequilibrium throughout the planet. We need help with many projects and work around the farm like organic farming and gardening, construction and maintenance, cutting firewood, building fences, weeding, mulching and general farm chores.
    Guest accommodations are in one of two houses on the farm.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The farm here is my family's and still follows many conventional practices. I'm working to transition into a more organic operation. To experience the full experience of the organic project, I encourage you to join me in Chile. You can see my workaway, organic project profile there.
    We are planning to integrate organic farming and permaculture practices to create a culture to work organically with all aspects of the environment and web of life. The Organic Project vision is to put theory into practice and create something unique to be a model for future generations. The project Mission is to work and live organically in harmony with Mother Earth without toxins of any kind, in the soil, in the mind, body or spirit. We are here now to live and learn consciously from each other, to give, to serve, to laugh and to love. I was called to serve and I seek to find others who have heard the same call from Mother Earth to create a more organic culture.

  • Help

    Help

    Most of the work I'm doing here is maintaining the vegetable gardens, pruning and maintaining the fruit trees, making mulch with a small wood chipper and cutting grass with a scythe.
    My father makes a lot of hay and has livestock. Part of the work here might include helping with the farm chores, collecting or splitting firewood and many other miscellaneous chores from roofing to post hole digging.
    Like on farms everywhere, there is always an abundance of work and service to be done.

    Other ongoing projects include: cleanup work, fixing and building fences, collecting firewood and general maintenance and repair. There’s always a lot to do around the fields with planting, weeding, clean up, fence repair, things like that.

    We can use help with all aspects of construction including, framing, roofing, electrical, plumbing, remodeling and general repair and innovation.
    I’d like to start a wind power system. I like the idea of micro-generators. Small is beautiful and simple is efficient. I’m doing some research on it but would welcome input or suggestions from people who might know something about it

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, español

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodations are in the guest bedroom of the family house. There are two single beds and can accommodate one or possibly two people. Guests of the family have priority for the guest bedroom. If there are family guests, volunteer camping is a possibility. You can check with us about the availability of camping gear: tent, sleeping bag, ground mat, etc. We usually have some extra gear available.

    Breakfast and often lunch will be self service. Dinner will mostly be with the family. Produce from the garden will come in the later part of the season. The farm is close to the city of Erie and the Erie Great Lake. There is no public transportation and very limited internet. Phone service and internet signal is available but often there is a weak signal.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The farm is close to the city of Erie and the Erie Great Lake. There is no public transportation and very limited internet. Phone service is available but often there is a weak signal.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 257292518964