Help in our organic farm in the beautiful hills of Kalvarayan, India

Country

India

updated  

Favourited 182 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are becoming self-reliant on the food we consume. We do organic farming – growing millets, fruit trees, timber trees, vegetables. . . We have a small solar power plant to take care of the lighting and other energy needs of a household. We use a dry compost latrine to recycle our waste. We have built a house with stabilised mud blocks. A lot more is happening, Come, visit us. . .

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We try alternatives in every sphere of life. Our house is built with mud blocks; powered by solar pv; we grow organic food for own consumption; use compost toilets' have free ranging cows for milk and manure; and

    have a very good collection of books, music, movies. we are interested in learning other countries culture, cuisines, language, history. . .

  • Help

    Help

    Update : Luckily we have been getting some good rain the past few days. We are converting part of land into mini-forest. We need people to plant trees , water them, and to add mulch. We also plan to build a lot of raised beds for our vegetable garden.

    We offer a nice private space for stay free of cost. Food can be arranged in farm or you can explore the local village restaurants!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Hindi: Fluent
    Tamil: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    interested in learning french and german. Can teach english and tamil.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a good independent space for the guests with the beautiful view of the hills. You will be woken up daily by the bird-songs!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Trekking/ cycling/jogging in the hills possibilities are there.
    We are still remote!! In a day two buses come to our village.
    If you are visiting, you should plan to arrive here before 6 pm.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Me ( Rams) and my wife ( Rama)
Claudine, a wonderful person. Abundant energy and goodwill. Miss you!
Paddy ready for harvest! Volunteers needed by 20th March to 31st March.
Clotilde from France volunteered with us last year. Taught us delicious recipies.
Alois from France volunteered with us last year.






Host ref number: 256682994497