updated   Last minute

Help us nuture the world's most incredible edible forest in Ciales, Puerto Rico

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    My name is Joey. I like nature, a lot, and love to travel and explore other places and cultures. I've lived on 3 continents, in 9 cities, and have traveled to 40-50 countries. I've recently landed in Puerto Rico which I've decided to call home. It's a fascinating island, full of amazing nature and things to do, and I'm happy to share the magic of it with others.

    Blake is my partner and co-host. She's into all things sustainable and enjoys building, gardening, cooking, photography, and practicing yoga. Blake is committed to sharing her love for our land with you and fostering a safe environment and community.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Puerto Rico is a fascinating island with a ton of interesting history and culture to explore. We are always learning and sharing knowledge, from the indigenous Taino people who came first to the following settlers and inhabitants and stewards of the land. In addition to the local people, the location where one would be staying plays host to travelers from other parts of the world as well.. so there are always interesting people to meet passing through. There are several projects going on at the finca where travelers will learn new skills, and have the opportunity to share what they know in exchange.

  • Help

    Help

    We're nurturing the world's most incredible edible forest and off-grid, eco retreat / living spaces surrounded by the most beautiful natural settings. We are looking for like-minded active people who want to come and enjoy the tranquil mountains and help with daily tasks in exchange for accommodation and food harvested from the land.

    Activities could include building and updating irrigation systems, designing and building solar microgrids, learning and implementing organic farming practices, and general handy work and maintenance like painting, cleaning, etc. New construction projects will continue to arise, so building knowledge will be quite useful.

    Also looking for those experienced to add to the programming activities of the space, especially relating to things like yoga, meditation, massage, jiu-jitsu, and eco-sustainability.

    We do optional skill shares in the afternoon for those looking to expand or share knowledge. Bring any tools and supplies for your hobbies! :-)

    The exchange is for a minimum of 2 weeks. 5 hours a day / 5 days a week. We begin each day with a check-in at 7:45 am. Most tasks are active and outdoors so be sure to stay hydrated and bring your protective gear (closed-toe shoes, sunglasses, hat, long sleeve, pants, sunscreen, natural bug spray, headlamps, gloves etc.).

    An ideal Workaway guest embodies respect, responsibility, and a passion for outdoor work and learning. They are punctual, diligent in cleaning up tools and spaces after use, and demonstrate a proactive approach to tasks. This individual embraces the outdoor environment, capable of working under the sun, and eager to expand their skills and knowledge. They value others' time, privacy, and property, fostering a harmonious community atmosphere. Passionate about nature and holistic wellness, they contribute positively to our shared goals of sustainability and personal growth.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Interested in Portuguese.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We provide a diverse range of accommodations, ranging from glamping options to shared or private rooms, depending on availability. For those who prefer a closer connection with nature, we also provide tent camping options, allowing you to immerse yourself in the heart of our paradise under the twinkling stars. Feel free to bring your gear and make yourself at home amidst the beauty of our surroundings.

    You're invited to cook in our equipped communal kitchen and eat at your leisure. Guests who wish to buy and have their private supply of food, or particular items not to be shared, can do so.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    "Go To Ciales" is a great resource that has info on the surrounding area.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have very fast and reliable Starlink service.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We can accommodate vans and personal travel vehicles.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Open to discussion on pets, as long as they're not bothersome to others on property.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Average 5 hours, 5 days / week

Host ref number: 256364628797

Feedback (6)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)








Help me looking after my dogs in Luquillo, Puerto Rico