Outdoor help at our home in Acharnes, Greece

Country

Greece

updated  

Favourited 264 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/10/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    195

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    62.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My profile changed in August when my husband suddenly died. I am a retired American that has lived in Greece for over 40 years. I graduated from MSU in Michigan. My home is very American. I speak English some Greek and I also speak German. We live in a passive solar house and consider the environment to be something to be cared for. We have about 6 stemmas on a steep hill just above Athens. We are 2 km from the commuter train which goes to Athens every hour and arrives there in 22 minutes making it easy to tour the city and to return. We have planted fruit and nut trees, usually have a large vegetable garden, lots of flowers and find there is always something that needs doing. The above description has changed a lot because we had a terrible forest fire and everything outside of the house has burned. I will need help to put things back and growing again. Our house was saved but needs quite a bit of repair. At least it is still very habitable.

    You would have a room with twin beds and your own bath room. Food is home cooked. I live in a farming area very close to Kifissia. Here it is quiet but easy to get to lively Greek life. Absolutely no smoking.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My husband, Leonard, was an exchange student to Pakistan in the International Farm Youth Exchange program. That experience changed his life. We are well traveled and enjoy different nationalities and appreciate different points of view.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Farming experience is a plus. Knowing how to set up a dripper system is also helpful. Knowing how to use a weed eater or strimmer is very useful. Knowing how to paint some interior walls would be good.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Greek: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a one family home. You would have a room with two twin beds and your own bath room.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 1 km from the bus, 2 km from the commuter train, about 20 minutes by car to the subway station. Within 22 minutes the commuter train has you in Athens. That same train takes you to the port and from there the islands. Athens has lots of things to do and see. Far too many to list here. Young people like visiting the islands.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (4.7)












Host ref number: 256156118894