Come be part of our big, cheerful family with six teenagers in a small town near Budapest, at Lake Velence, Hungary

Country

Hungary

Favourited 11 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 16 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in a small town near Budapest, at Lake Velence. Our cottage is situated in a frequented tourist destination at halfway between Budapest (the capital of Hungary) and the beautiful Lake Balaton.

    We have a little, charming cottage near our home at Lake Velence, which is being renovated. Inside it is nice and cosy, outside it is under construction.

    We have a cheerful, big, christian family with six teenagers. Can you imagine what a great fun it is to play table games together when they all are at home? We love these moments. My daughters are Hanna 12, Kata 16, my son is Bálint 18. My husband also has got three children Csongor 11, Molli 13 and Bogi 15. They live with their mother in Budapest and come to us in every secound weekend plus they spend every holliday with us.

    My name is Eszter, I am 45, graduated as an economist (Msc). I am a cheef executive of the regional tourism destination management NGO and part time I teach tourism management at a vocational highschool and also work at a christian NGO in Budapest, who is a partner of the worldwide organisation called Every Gneration Ministry. We help christian ministries and their youth leaders to prove their children / teenager communities and we publish books for Bible teachers.

    My husband Zoltán is 46, he is an IT developer and works for Lufthansa Systems Hungary in Budapest. He is a Quora fun, is interested in astronomy and any kind of technology or science issues. We both are converted christions.
    With my husband and some teenagers we serve with pop music in the local reformed church community. Zoli plays guitar, Csongor (11) plays bass, Kata (15) plays ukulele, Molli (13) and I sing, our friends, Balu (14) plays piano and Hunor (17) plays cajon. If you like music and play any instrument(s) we warmly welcome you in our amateur company to have fun together.

    We are friendly, open-minded, flexible and love to discuss about interesting questions. We are looking for fresh ideas, meet new people, try new things.

    We like doing our best and like things tidy and clean.

    If you feel like getting to know us, please do not hesitate to contact me. I am looking f orward to your questions.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    To workaway with us will be an adventures holiday for you. You have chance to get to know Hungary better end get to know the real life of a regular, big hungarian family. You can feel useful by helping us and our communities.

  • Help

    Help

    We are welcome couple workawayers, who
    - can help us improove our family's English or German,
    - are eager to help us with the renovation works of our charming cottage and it's garden. It operates as a self catering accomodation during the summer. (We won't welcome guests in the cottage during your stay.)
    - can help us improve our small touristic and IT business, especially communication, design,
    - are musicions and feel like improving our amateur worship band or
    can help our local, christian community

    If you have other, new ideas, not listed above, do not hesitate to let us know!

    We ask 20 hours per workawayer per week (timing depends on our agreement). The rest of the time is free.

    We would like to welcome primarilly couples, for 1 or 2 weeks in May, June, September, October, November.

    Let me tell you more about the opportunities for cooperation:

    Teaching English or German: All of our 6 children (age 11-18) learn English at various levels, some of them learn German too. Kata (16) and Bálint (18) are fluent in English. My husband works in English an he speaks a little bit German, me too. We all would enjoy practicing, speaking, getting to know you and your experiences, ideas, plans etc. If you have sence of teaching or like to help us practicing English or German, we would highly appreciate.

    Building, renovating the cottage and gardening: to paint the siding of the roof, repaire and paint the fence, cut the grass, rake the leafes, weed out, plant grass, trees and plants.
    We would like to build a fireplace, If you have a good idea, you can help us, we would be pleased.
    We know only a little about gardening and building, so if you like working by hand, even if you are an experienced, creative gardenlover, it could be a great advantage.

    Improving our small family enterprise: develop the websites, social media platforms, write or translate contents, take photos, make videos. In case you are experienced in running business or you are a consultant, we need your oppinion :)

    Music: We like music very much. Zoli plays the guitar, Kata the ukulele, Csongor the bass and chello, the girls like singing. The guys are interestid in music technology too. If you play any instrument, if you are amateur or professional musicion, it will be fun to play music together and to learn some novelties from each other. If you fancy, you are warmly welcome to our amateur band.

    Charity work for the local community: If you like doing voluntaire work, we can introduce you to the pastor of our local church. Tere is allways a lot to do in the nursery or at the schools. I am sure you can make yourselves useful.

    We respectfully ask that our workawayers honor our values. We respect our differences and also respects our common commitments.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Hungarian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay on your own, in our tiny, very cosy and comfortable cottage (36 squermetres), in the middle of an old garden in the edge of the town (actually 2 kms far from us). It is a self catering accommodation.

    It is situated in the holiday home resort part of the settlement, so it is calm and quiet.

    The little house is outwardly dingy, but inside it is snug, well furnished. It has a well equipped kitchen, a small bathroom and a toilette. In the house there is only one room (theree is no separate living- and bedroom), with a tile stove in it to warm it up at chilly days. Under the house there is a nice cellar.

    In the garden (1700 squermeters) there are some old trees (nut, cherry, apple, pear, plum, hasel), some "antient" grapes.

    The cottage is about 2 kms (1 miles) far from Lake Velence.
    We live 2 km (1miles) from the cottage in a familyhouse with garden, so you can be on your own, undisturbed at the charming place.

    You are welcome to our table on weekends for lunch or dinner and maybe on weekdays (only for dinner, because we are away at work).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lake Velence is one of the most atmospheric and charming regions of Hungary, a magical place which will leave you with so many experiences to take with you.

    With its velvety, shallow waters Lake Velence is located in the heart of Hungary, 50km from Budapest, 40 km from Lake Balaton, in wonderful natural surroundings, at the foot of the Velence Hills. Thanks to the M1 and M7 motorways and to the suburban railway it is quicker to get to Lake Velence than to get from Pest to Buda on a normal weekday. It takes app. 35 minutes to get to Budapest by train. However, this is not the only reason to head this way but also because all year round this region offers numerous wonders for those keen on sophisticated, near-natural experiences.
    Lake Velence is a paradise for bikers. You can bike around the lake in 3-4 hours (30 kms / 20 miles). Hundreds of kilometres of hiking routes can be covered comfortably by bike, on foot, on horseback and on water as you do not have to face tiring climbs and drops or great distances. Those looking for quiet relaxation can enjoy well-looked-after shores and the pampering services of wellness hotels and spas while those thirsting for active recreation, for new knowledge can set out to discover the natural beauty and architectural sights of the surrounding area and can take their pick from the wide variety of programmes offered by the region.

    You can discover Hungary, the "wellspring of wonders" baths and spas, spicey gastronomy, cultural heritage. If you wish, you can do a one or two day long trip to Slovakia or Austria too. Bratislava, the Slovak capital is only 200 kms far from here and austrian Vienna is also within the same kms. International train connections are excellent good too.

    Being a DMO manager, I know Hungary like the back of my hand and I can give you advice what to visit and where to travel, where to eat special Hungarian food and drink delicious wine, which are the best festivals or other opportunities full of life in Budapest or in the neighbourhood.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Workawayers travelling in campervans can park on the yard of our cottage.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Outside the cottage is quite odd. It needs to be renovated.
Our little, cosy cottage for our workawayers.
the cottage
The cottage is a self catering accommodation at Lake Velence, near Budapest.
Host ref number: 255651963326