Help in the Austrian Mountains with DIY and the Garden

Country

Austria

Favourited 34 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an English couple living in Millstatt, Carinthia. We moved here in 2017 and have been renovating our new house since. Darren is a software engineer, Tanya is a Nanny. We have a holiday rental apartment on one side of our home.

    We have lots of odd DIY, gardening and general projects on the go.

    We have converted part of our home into a 2-bed holiday rental, which is pretty much ready now. Our half hasn't been renovated yet so this is the project slowly for 2019/2020. We are trying to sort our garden into a small herb and vegetable plot, with fruit trees etc. We are not a farm however.

    We live in a quiet neighbourhood which has a nice community spirit, with neighbours popping in and out. We aren't really party people, so our home wouldn't really be suitable for those who are.

    Daytime we work from home, or on the house and garden. Evenings are generally spent chatting over a meal, outside in the garden or at the lake in summer, or just relaxing with a book, board game or a film. Weekends we try and spend time in the mountains hiking or skiing, or at the lake.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a wonderful area of Austria. There is a lovely view of Lake Millstatt and the mountains from our house. The Lake around a 15 min walk downhill from our house, 2 minutes by car. In the summer the lake is warm to swim in. Millstatt has several cafes and restaurants. The woods begin behind our house for those looking to walk. There is cycle hire in Millstatt, and we have 2 bikes at the house.

    Ski resorts in winter are nearby. Goldeck is 15mins drive, bad kleinkirchheim and Katschberg around 30 mins.

    You would have lots of free time to explore the local area. If you enjoy the mountains, hiking, skiing, natural spaces and wildlife then this would be ideal for you.


    Having workaways join us is obviously beneficial to how fast we can complete our renovation, however it's also a chance for us to learn about other peoples culture and for workawayers to have the opportunity to hike, swim, ski and generally explore the local culture. We have had some great evenings cooking together with others, weekends hiking together and generally working in partnership.
    There is so much to see and do locally or within a short drive. Therefore this isn't really a suitable placement for those who want to just stay in the house but not join in communally, or who do not like the outdoor lifestyle.

    We speak English at home, but Tanya also speaks moderate german. Happy to also help with anyone English, or them to help us with German!

  • Help

    Help

    We have lots of odd diy, gardening and general projects on the go.
    This year we hope to:

    Garden
    A general helping hand with maintenance or a new project.

    House
    1) general repainting, sanding and wallpaper stripping
    2) need advice from an electrician and potentially help
    3) Anyone who is arty, painting a picture or creating some artwork for decor
    4) Help with holiday apartment if it is being rented

    Cats
    We are covered for the cat sitting for 2019, do get in touch to enquire for 2020.

    We are happy for anyone to come over and stay basically, for an extra set of hands to help us with our many projects. If anyone is skilled ie a gardener, electrician, builder then that would be amazing. However, we are just your average couple with general knowledge of these projects, so no actual skilled workers are required. Just a willingness to help out.

    We are flexible as to when you help out.

    Couples are welcome or 2 friends. A mixture of ability and help is great, and then you would also have someone to explore the area with when we are busy working.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a double bedroom free for your use with small en-suite. We have space for 2 people to share the room and it can be arranged as a double or 2 twin beds.

    We have a garden area with seating and a bbq.

    Our house is at the top of a fairly steep hill. Our house is also built on a slope with a sloped terraced garden. Therefore you need to be reasonably fit to be able to get around on foot.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you fly, Klagenfurt is the closest airport, (1hr drive) followed by Salzburg (1hr 40min drive).

    A car is essential as public transportation is limited.

    The local area can be explored on foot or bike, but a car will allow you to ski and into the mountains daily in the afternoons and weekends as you will have plenty of free time.

    Within a short walk or drive is the lake , spas, mountains, ski areas, castles, museums, towns, train station, and various attractions of all sorts (it is a summer tourist hotspot). Do ask for any extra info

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours per day, 5 days a week

Tanya and Darren
Our two cats. Monty and Frieda
Lake Millstatt
Our House

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 254445299721