Experience life on a small holding in the Kent countryside, southern England

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 60 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    82

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Brian and Jane and we have a smallholding in the Kent countryside, about one hour from Central London by train. It is about 3 1/2 acres and we have (depending on the time of year) sheep, pigs, geese, chickens, quail and guinea fowl, plus two terrier dogs. We have been running the smallholding for about ten years and are in out late 50's, early 60's, but hope we have a young outlook on life....

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They could learn about animal welfare and running a smallholding, plus if they are interested in horticulture and gardening there are many world renowned gardens close to us, such as Sissinghurst and Great Dixter, plus numerous National Trust houses and gardens.

  • Help

    Help

    We would prefer a couple or two friends travelling together. We would like some assistance with things like (depending on the time of year): hedge trimming, laying paths, looking after animals, building animal housing, gardening etc.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Basic French and a little German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A self contained studio apartment in our grounds that travellers can use if it is not rented out as a holiday let whilst they are with us - this has a double bed, shower room and kitchen. If you are two friends travelling together but not wishing to share a double bed, we could possibly offer another, separate, bedroom in our home.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a bus service through our village, plus we would be happy to give lifts from here within a reasonable distance, including to local train stations serving London. There are numerous historic National Trust sites in the area, together with a steam railway and a boating station that runs ferries to Bodiam Castle. There are also many lovely walks from our home, plus the towns of Hastings, Rye and Winchelsea are nearby. There is also an excellent old English pub in our village serving local beers and good food - this is about 2 minutes walk from here!

    We would expect volunteers to be respectful of our property, but we are very relaxed and friendly and enjoy having a laugh!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Brian and Jane with our dogs
Our holiday let studio apartment
Our house
Our house
Two of our Jacob sheep, with new lambs


Host ref number: 253941471986