Help us rebuild our home after a fire in Bever, Belgium.

Country

Belgium

updated  

Favourited 322 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    27  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    962

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    In a small monastery that we completely renovated with ecological materials, a place full of peace and art, our private residence burned down. help us to rebuild this.

    During the winter our house burned down and we can start again. We do not let the courage drop, our guests and friends have made us even more aware of the balie of the place. The enery, support and help of enthousiaste is more than ever welcome. Feel adressed with the necessary talenten to help us rebuild our house and our garden. Welcome!

    Because we currently share everything with our guests, it is also important for you, the workawayer, to know what's the philosophy in our B&B.

    LOCATION
    It's a small town located on the border of counties Flemish-Brabant and Henegouwen. The town has only 2000 inhabitants, which make is a cosy rural town overlooking big fields and small hills.

    BED & BREAKFAST
    Our hostel was built with a high respect for tradition, peace & silence and holds a strong connection with nature. Nature and culture go hand in hand here. We also offer some culture in the form of a big library, a music program, fascination with literature and poetry.

    This used to be a convent. During its restoration, we have tried to maintain the ancient tradition and materials of the convent. The entire place still whispers in silence, in peace and harmony with every individual, with the community and society, but also with its surroundings. This is rebuilt with care for ecology and nature. We have an ecological garden and biological swimming pound.

    We host individuals, group- and company events (trainings, workshops, mindfulness and yoga retreats, lectures, dance recitals, music, theatre,…). We invite you to re-experience the feeling of slowing down, the effect of silence and beauty. We respect each and everyone’s individuality and wishes, but we do ask to join us in respecting the traditions of the house.


    FOOD
    From the start, we decided to use only biological and fair-trade products or locally produced ingredients during the preparation of meals. Our offer is also suited for vegans and vegetarians. In our ecological garden, we grow several herbs, spices and berries.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    While staying with us and volunteering, you can have a different experience each week.
    Our activities continue as much as possible as a result of which you can sometimes participate in a concert. During your stay you have to take into account the guests present, as there are currently no other rooms available.
    It can be busy with guests, but also more quiet, depending on the amount of reservations. We sometimes offer silence weeks, when everyone is asked to be silent during several parts of the day. If that is not your thing, then please ask us up front what schedule looks like in the time you'll be here, before picking your arrival date. You can meet a lot of interesting people with fascinating stories. We often host musicians, writers, journalists and value maximisers. You can have useful exchanges with fellow work-away’ers.

    If you're lucky you can join one of our intimate concerts in the chapel, since we sometimes organise these.

    We offer you peace & silence, music, a wing piano in the former chapel where there is a good acoustics, a meditation room and a big library as well as the possibility to join us during a silent moment in our meditation room.

    Volunteer insurance is included.

  • Help

    Help

    We need volunteers for different types of tasks. Depending what your skill level and experience is, you can help us with following projects:

    - HOUSEKEEPING:
    Because of all that has happened, we currently have far fewer guests and we are looking for someone who can help us in our household, so that we can concentrate on rebuilding our house.
    preparing meals, setting the tabel, doing the disches, keeping everything tidy and clean. Note: cooking & cleaning after your own meals is not considered work

    -GARDENER:
    A part of the garden has been destroyed and must be refurbished ecological garden (planting, removing,…)

    -HANDYMAN:
    breakdown: the entire interior of our home must be demolished
    building new interior walls
    decorating a new room with wood,
    help with building forniture from wood,
    measuring garden trays and stairs
    cleaning the workplace.

    -WHAT ELS? Feeding the chicken, picking fruit, etc,...

    AlSO: I'm looking for someone who can fix the bump in my car.

    - SEWING: We need new curtains. Please let me know if you have experience sewing !

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Dutch, French, English, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Minimum stay expected of helpers 2 weeks

    You will be either staying in a shared room (maximum 2 persons - see picture in profile for this type of room), with shared bathroom in the main building or in a two-story shared studio with private bathroom (shared with maximum 2 other roommates), 2 tables. The type of accommodation you will have depends on the occupancy and the number of volunteers on site.

    We provide biological breakfast, lunch and dinner for our volunteers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In a rural town, surrounded by fields, a river, a forest and nature. You can do very nice nature walks or take a bike and explore the area. If you want to challenge yourself, you can bike up to the Wall. (famous with cyclists).

    Cultural sites: Beloeil Castle, Gaasbeek Castle, Notre Dame à la Rose museum (former hospital)

    Exotic bird park “Pairi Daiza” is only 20km away and Brusssels can be reached easily by train.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day (max 25 hours/week)





















Host ref number: 253468645541