Help me tame my overgrown garden and some other home DIY projects in Perth, Scotland, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 46 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    72.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Professional degree qualified engineer, director and business owner, running business between Scotland and Ireland. I am very limited free time and requires a little bit of help bring the maintenance of my garden and large house up to scratch.

    Property is 15 minutes North of Edinburgh by car, located in a beautiful part of rural Scotland. , 20 minutes by cycle from a beautiful loch and cycle route. Workaways will have the opportunity to fly light aircraft and that will appeal to some with an interest in aviation or flight.

    Principal reason s for exchange are of course:

    language practice.
    share recipes and cook their favourite dishes
    teaching and learning of new flying skills
    Small gardening or DIY projects which we can do together to learn new skills

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Workaways will have the opportunity to be taught clay shooting and off road driving skills. Basic flight instruction and potentially gliding. I also run a busy engineering consultancy specialising in Zero Carbon design and implementation.

    Bus service to village, Bikes available for loan, Good park and ride service to Edinburgh. - Good area for hill walking, country walks , loch walks - on Scottish cycle network. It is Idyllic in Summer - It is miserable in Winter

  • Help

    Help

    Garden overgrown - no time to maintain hedges, lawns flower beds. Decking and fencing projects. Large 5 bed house 15 minutes north of Edinburgh requires help with some small maintenance tasks. I would Like to practise German and learn Portuguese, Spanish or Italian.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    5 bed house with three bathrooms. Work-aways will have own bedroom and use of one or other bathroom. Kitchen, Internet. Meals, times etc by mutual agreement, food provided- Helpful if work-away can cook more than toast.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 251651549699