Looking for outdoor help with a range of activities on our old Victorian house in the village of Taynuilt, Scotland

Country

United Kingdom

new host  

Favourited 16 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! We are a family living in rural Argyll. Over the past 3 years we have been renovating our Victorian House in the village of Taynuilt, only 11 miles from the coastal town of Oban - the gateway to the western isles.
    We are a family of four; myself, Helen (35) my husband Dave (39) and our sons Ruaridh (9) and Fraser (3). There is also our friendly and bouncy black Lab, Penny and cat Leia. Dave is an engineer with Caledonian MacBrayne when he is not at home knocking down walls and fitting bathrooms. I am a stay at home mum, part-time primary teacher and run our holiday let business.
    We love welcoming visitors as we believe Argyll has lots to offer everyone from its gorgeous loch shores and stunning mountains to the fantastic wildlife. Our village offers great amenities like the Inn, cafe, salon, butchers and grocers. We are a really friendly and welcoming family. Life is busy with young boys but always different and never dull as there is always plenty to do!
    Our house sits on a 2 acre plot and while we have been busy renovating the house the garden is now in real need of taming! We have hens who have been working hard to clear areas but even they can't keep up with mother nature.
    I am an enthusiastic cook not allowing any one to go hungry in our home so you can rest assured you will be well looked after and feel appreciated when you are with us.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will very much be part of the family while you are here, enjoy the general day to day life that we have and be well looked after. You will get to see this beautiful part Scotland and we can be used as a stopping place to explore other special areas, such as the islands, which many can be visited as a day trip. Dave and I were both children here so will be more than happy to share our knowledge, recommendations and contacts to help you make the most of your time in Scotland. There is so much to do here, hiking, kayaking, historical sites and more!

  • Help

    Help

    We are really looking for outdoor help with a range of activities from chopping wood, mowing the grass, pruning bushes, weeding and tidying up the outside of the house and clearing the gutters and cleaning the windows (I hope you're taller than me wee 5'), helping to clear and replant the rockery. Dave started building a wall last year during the good weather and plans to get back to it with some assistance. And you never know Ruaridh may convince you to help him on the next stage of his grand design - the tree house! You may also be occasionally walking Penny the dog (who will be your shadow) or hosing down the hen house.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a small but perfectly formed Maid's Hut for you to stay in while you are with us. It was built at the same time as the house for the maid to live in so full of history. We have updated it since then with a kitchenette (though all meals will be served in the house) and log burning stove. There are 2 rooms, the kitchen/living area and the bedroom. The bedroom has bunk beds and a single bed. Off the kitchen is the original toilet. Although the Hut does not have a shower you're more than welcome into the house to use the family bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We would appreciate help 5 hours per day 5 days a week. When not busy helping you will be really welcome to join us on whatever we are doing - school run, walking the dog, playing on the beach, shopping in Oban etc. We know other local families with workaways so you can always connect with them should you wish. There is a train station in the village which takes you to Oban or Glasgow with stops along the way. There is a local bike hire available which is another way to explore the area.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 249873815572