Learn and practice some DIY skills while improving your English in Bolton, Greater Manchester, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 245 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    46  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a qualified EFL teacher (English as a Foreign Language), who is renovating a detached house, north of Manchester City. I welcome volunteers who enjoy learning practical skills, such as decorating, (preparation for painting and hanging wallpaper) and general gardening, (clearing away leaves onto the compost heap, mowing the lawn, prunning and general tidying up in the garden). I am also planning to create a kitchen garden where I can grow vegetables. I also welcome help with simple household tasks such as vacuuming, washing up kitchen utensils after meals and keeping the fridge clean.
    I can offer the opportunity of improving your English language skills for everyday situations and usually recommend a period of 1 to 4 weeks initially. Renovating a house and gardening can sometimes be a bit dirty, dusty and messy and recommend you bring your old clothes to wear when attempting some of the tasks.
    I am also an unpaid Volunteer at the Science & Industry Museum in Manchester and assist with learning experiences as part of the Museum’s activities.
    Non-smokers particularly welcome, Vegans might feel a little uncomfortable as I cook with animal products, such as eggs, cheese, fish.
    For those of you who are seriously interested in studying the English language, please refer to the British Council website in your country, and also the BBC website Learning English, both websites have free learning materials available for you to use.
    Last minute availability due to a cancellation, from Monday 28th October for 2 weeks until 10th November.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can also offer language tuition and practice as I am a language and maths teacher, as well as being a German and French speaker. I am also interested in Science Communication and volunteer at the Science & Industry Museum in Manchester. I enjoy cooking, so if you want to improve your culinary skills, we can prepare a few tasty meals together. I collect cookery books so like to enjoy a variety of healthy foods worldwide. I am not a big meat eater, so tend to prepare light meals with vegetables.

  • Help

    Help

    Are you interested in improving your English language skills , as well as acquiring some DIY skills, painting, hanging wallpaper, weeding a garden, mowing a lawn, painting a garden fence and help create a vegetable plot.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I am renovating a 3 bedroom house, a recently decorated bedroom can be made available to you which includes sharing at least two meals (breakfast and lunch/dinner), only on the days you are volunteering, on your free days you will be able to access the kitchen to prepare your own food, if required, otherwise there are a number of places where you can obtain a meal if you don’t want to cook.
    Sometimes, I may have other visitors or other volunteers staying, and/or the occasional learner requiring an intensive language course.
    WiFi is available at the local shopping center and local library, and local swimming pool.
    Bolton has an small museum and art gallery above the library.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I live 20 minutes by train or 40 minutes by bus from the center of Manchester which has a lot of major attractions.
    Manchester International Airport is 30 minutes by train plus 12 minutes by bus. The Lancashire coast (Liverpool, Southport) is also not far away, by public transport, train or bus being available.
    Before I can make you an offer, I will require you to confirm your identity by sending a copy of a document to my email address.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





























Host ref number: 249791111391