1 / 4

Join a little family and help with childcare, cleaning, gardening and cooking in Kuranda, Australia

  • Australia
  • Favourited 36 times
  • Last activity: 22 Mar 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    I am a 34 year old solo mama of a six year old living in beautiful far north Queensland. Our home is settled in the tropical rainforest of Kuranda 30 minutes inland from Cairns.
    It is a cosy two story home with a separate private bedroom downstairs for all guests who stay with us.

    We love music, dance, outdoor adventure, learning about world culture as well as cooking beautiful plant based food.
    I am also a trainer yoga instructor who teaches classes every week as well as furthering my training through online studies.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will share our love of food from our local area as well as Latin America. We are a multicultural family and love to share all things from around the world.
    We are also learning Spanish and can share what we are learning from this beautiful language
    We also are Currently dancing Latin American folk dances and love to share this art and culture with others

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    I would love the most help with cooking and cleaning. Would love for people to apply who love spending time with children and have had experienced working with children before. Household tasks/cooking. Some gardening may be needed occasionally too

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are learning Spanish and would love to learn more with our guests. We also love to learn new words from other languages and expand our world knowledge

  • Accommodation


    We have a private spare room in the downstairs of our house that is available for all guests. It has a double bed and basic furniture.
    We do eat a plant-based diet so this opportunity would suit someone who also already eats this way too or is happy to learn and explore this way of life. No meat products or dairy are kept in our home. Locally sourced eggs are eaten occasionally .

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a very beautiful rainforest area with many waterfalls and rivers to enjoy during the hot days. With Barron Falls at our doorstep and many aboriginal culture experiences close by there is lots to see and learn about.
    There are buses to cairns and the northern beaches many times a day, as well as us being happy to give lift around the area when we are going out for the day

    We have quite a busy schedule and I will be at home studying most days as well as teaching yoga classes three days a week in town. We also have dance rehearsal /performances regularly. We keep a tidy home and appreciate respect, open communication, compassion and honesty in all areas of life.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 249498313949



Help in the lush rainforest hinterland close to the beautiful beaches of Byron Bay, NSW. Australia
General help on the bushy outskirts of Melbourne, Australia