Come and help out around our home and with some outdoor projects in Oregon, USA,

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 71 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/01/2022

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there! We are really looking forward to hosting you on our 20 acre farm in the foothills of the Willamette Valley.

    My family and I moved here over a decade ago after living in Eastern Oregon. Prior to that we lived in Ecuador and in Bolivia for over ten years. My husband is German and I grew up in North Carolina in the US. We are excited to host anyone from an international or a domestic background. Between my husband and I, we speak English, German, and Spanish. Our son (21), is pursuing Chinese , German and Spanish. Our daughter (18), is currently in high school and studying Spanish. We have one dog, two horses, 8 chickens, and several bee hives.

    There is always plenty to do year round. Clearing brush, fixing fences, cooking meals, weeding, help in the garden, cleaning the house, chopping firewood, helping with animals, building projects, etc. etc. etc.

    Our plan is to expand our personal food production in order to make our property more sustainable. We have just set up a 100 ft by 15 ft caterpillar tunnel in order to begin growing vegetables year round. We also have many projects getting the farm and the land back in order after several crazy weather events in the last couple of years.

    Given the amount of work to do around this property, it can be difficult to juggle tasks indoors and outdoors, with animals, etc. So anyone who would like to help us build toward a better future would likely find a wide variety of jobs to perform. Every day, every season is different. There is always something interesting to learn!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My husband is German. I grew up in North Carolina. Our kids spent their young years in Ecuador. We lived in South America for 10 years. We have had the fortune to travel the world. We are excited to learn from anyone who comes to stay on the farm as well as teach what we know and what we have experienced.

    We live in a rural area about one hour south of Portland, Oregon. There are many opportunities for big city experiences, as well as abundant opportunities to spend time in the beautiful mountains and beaches of Oregon. We love to hike, camp and spend time in the outdoors. We are happy to have company if you are interested in joining us!

  • Help

    Help

    Some of the tasks we would welcome help with are as follows:

    Helping with cooking, cleaning, shopping and keeping the household running

    Removing debris in the forest from the tremendous ice storm that hit Oregon this year. Splitting and stacking wood. Moving large rounds of wood.

    Assist with construction projects around the property including building a new chicken coop, renovating a glasshouse, fixing fences, etc.

    Basic maintenance and upkeep around the farm (such as chopping wood, pruning, feeding horses, housesitting, etc.)

    Helping with cooking, cleaning, shopping and keeping the household running

    Bring an open and pleasant attitude and be willing to work hard at times. A lot of the tasks is strenuous so anyone who is not afraid of hard work would be a good fit.

    It would be amazing to host a Workawayer with carpentry skills who can assist in various projects in the house and around the farm.

    A couple with a variety of skills and a willingness to jump in and help would also be ideal.

    Workawayers with their own transportation are preferred as we live 7 miles from the closest town.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have several accommodations available on our property depending on the season and availability. There are two tiny houses, a cottage, a couple of guest rooms in the main house, and plenty of space to camp should that interest you. All of the places (including the camping) have access to warm water, a shower, and a toilet. There is wifi in the main house.

    Because we are getting into a very busy time of the year meals tend to be more sporadic so meals will either be shared, food will be made available for the Workawayer to fix for themselves, or we can pay a stipend to cover grocery costs. Any Workawayer who wants to take on cooking duties will be welcomed with open arms!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are fortunate enough to live just miles away from the beautiful Silver Falls State Park which features many waterfalls and a rainforest (Pacific NW style). In addition, we live about a 15 minute drive away from the small town of Silverton. You can visit the historic downtown and enjoy several boutique businesses, take a dip in the Silverton Reservoir, or check out the famous Oregon Garden. Furthermore, we are a 20 minute drive from Salem, the capital of Oregon and an hour drive from Portland. The Willamette Valley is also well-known for its numerous vineyards.
    Personal transportation is a bonus but we can help out with rides as much as possible if that is not an option.

    ***COVID- 19 - We would ask any Workawayers to please abide by all Covid-19 restrictions and recommendations.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 248666241483