updated  

Home sit and help in the garden while experiencing the food and culture in St. David, Grenada

  • Favourited 146 times
  • Last activity: 13 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    I am a retired nutritionist with a market garden. My garden is next door to my home. On specific days, I get up about 5: 00 am and head to the garden. I love being in the garden.
    Actually, I love the outdoors. I am a member of a hiking club. We hike last Saturday of every month. We hike either hills and valleys, coast line or waterfalls. This is the best way to explore my beautiful Island. I also love fishing though I am not a good fisher woman. I practice yoga and walk on mornings when I am not going to the garden or the beach.

    I live in a quiet area on a hillside with lots of ocean breeze. the beach is about 15 minutes walk from my home and public transportation is about 3 minutes walk. Around my house is a variety of fruit trees. At anytime you will find a tree with fruits ready to be picked (mangoes, sugar apples, oranges, papaya, pineapples and french cashew).
    In the garden you’ll find green leafy vegetables(lettuce, arugula/rocket, collard greens, bok choi and kale) and other vegetables. I don't use chemical in the garden.
    I am looking for a mature adult to house sit, tend to the garden and harvest produce October- November 2024.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you choose to assist me, you will have the opportunity to spend time on a beautiful island with friendly people and explore it through hikes, the food and cultural activities. You would also learn some basic information on gardening.

  • Help

    Help

    Help in the garden with weeding, transplanting, harvesting and production of salad mix.
    The workaway should be a mature adult (single) who can work on their own and maintain the household.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    you will have a private room with a double size bed and closets that's cool and a private bathroom. Ingredients for breakfast and dinner would be povided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My youngest son and I share our home. He is out the majority of the time because of his work. I live simple.
    Don't let much bother me. My belief is "There's always a plan B" you may not know it but it's there. As such I don't sweat (worry) the small stuff. I take "Me Time". I live in the here and now.
    There are lots of places to explore on your own on the island. Old forts in and around the town of St. George's, waterfalls in the rural areas, cocoa plantations where you can see the making of chocolate and some of the most beautiful beaches on the island.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 247934912765

Feedback (2)


Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Help our family with the gardening and complete a home DIY project in Grand Bras, Grenada