Enjoy the relaxed pace of life in a Portuguese village. Tomar

Country

Portugal

Favourited 16 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    498

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Ahmad and Mindi, a British vegetarian couple. Ahmad was brought up in Iran so speaks Farsi and some Arabic too. We moved to Portugal in Summer 2017, to live a simpler life. We live in a village 5km south of Tomar so we are not 'off grid' but we try to be as sustainable as we can. We are renovating our own little house after converting the building next to it into a rental cottage. We need help with our 3/4 acre garden as well as building/renovation and general land maintenance.
    We have 2 dogs, 2 cats and 5 chickens. We grow as much food as we can and are expanding our vegetable garden, and planting more fruit trees.
    Mindi teaches English online so is often busy indoors. We are happy to help English learners and we are always happy to learn new languages. We would like some help speaking Portuguese!
    We are very relaxed and easy going and love meeting new people. We like to chill out in the evenings, at home or with friends.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Enjoy the relaxed pace of life in a Portuguese village. There is a cafe just down the road, which sells wine, beer and snacks.
    The Tomar area has a wealth of historical sites and beautiful locations to explore and we would love to share our love of Portugal. Discover the pleasure of eating food from the garden, drinking local wine or chilling in a hammock.
    We are both English speakers, learning Portuguese and Ahmad also speaks farsi.
    Mindi is a qualified UK and TEFL teacher and is happy to help with learning English.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help to look after the chickens, and to extend and maintain the vegetable beds and flower gardens. We would also like to convert an old outhouse into an outdoor kitchen. Our above ground pool needs some repair and maintenance too!
    We would like help with digging, planting, weeding, watering and harvesting in our vegetable garden and with the maintenance of our fruit trees. We have a small vineyard that needs strimming.
    There is a lot to do here to maintain and improve the land and buildings. We would particularly appreciate skills such as building, roofing, gardening and painting.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Farsi, some Arabic.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Small caravan with double bed, fridge, gas hob and electricity.
    Shared bathroom in the house with shower, toilet and basin.
    Help yourself to breakfast. Lunch and evening meal provided in the house or outside. All vegetarian.
    Use of 3m above-ground pool in garden.
    Wi-fi
    We welcome help in the kitchen, preparing and cooking meals, washing up!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are situated in a village 5km from the beautiful city of Tomar, with its World Heritage Templar castle. There are regular buses and trains so it is a great base to explore central Portugal. We can collect and drop off at the local train stations in Santa Cita or Tomar.
    Our house is 15 minutes by car from Barragem do Castelo de Bode, one of the largest reservoirs in Portugal. With quiet beaches, surrounded by trees, the reservoir is fantastic for for swimming, boating and water sports.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 855726985633