Help with our Husky Farm in Lonquimay, La Araucanía, Chile.

Country

Chile

updated  

Favourited 241 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/10/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are located in the commune of Lonquimay, in the south of Chile. A sports and tourism business focused on sled dogs. We have a Husky Farm that has approximately 24 dogs, including Siberian Husky, Alaskan Huskies and Eurohounds. We develop different types of tours both in winter and in summer with our dogs, from snow trips with sledding to training with carts with wheels in summer. And at the same time I participate and organize several types of competitions in winter and summer.
    Today Husky Farm is starting, since we moved to this area a few months ago, so we are with constant work. Construction of houses for dogs, kennels, maintenance of the farm, maintenance of the mountain hut, etc.
    It is a very novel project in Chile and we are developing with our hearts together with our beloved dogs!
    The idea is that in our Husky Farm people find the "home" of sled dogs in Latin America!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will find a place to disconnect from everyday life. You will be able to enjoy the beautiful native nature of the Araucanía Andina, a beautiful Patagonian area. And of course they will learn from sports and work with sled dogs. In addition, they will surely learn about working on the farm, lighting wood stoves, chopping wood with an ax, etc.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help with the huskies, cabin, and life in general on the mountain and farm where we live in southern Chile!

    Today we are looking for volunteers who can accompany us from June to the end of September, since in those months the winter season is developed, in which we offer tours and expeditions in the snow, so the volunteers must have a training period. and accompany us throughout the period. The idea is to be able to accompany us in the guided expeditions on a sled with dogs managed by themselves!

    We are starting our tourist and sports project in the south of Chile, so we are preparing all our place to receive the best way to our tourists. (kennels, cabin, etc.)
    We are not a typical worker, we expect our volunteers to work hard with us; we live a few kilometers from the Lonquimay city and Argentina, 16km from the nearest town (Liucura), we have excellent signal for some mobile networks (for example Entel), but we have not wifi. You must have some experience working with animals and a lot of common sense. We have 24 huskies, the huskies are cared for and fed every day throughout the year. With them we carry out activities throughout the year, both on dry land and in the snow. There is a cabin, a cellar and several kennels that we ask the volunteers to help clean and maintain. The way we live is not totally conventional, since dogs demand a lot of time, so you have to adapt the times and work hours to them, and not think about working a few hours and then forgetting everything.

    The weather can be unpredictable, as is life in the mountains. Must speak some Spanish, Italian or English and the minimum stay is two months (we prefer 3), but the first month is a 'probation / probation' and if you are happy, and we are happy, we will extend! Please, we do not want many complications with food, usually balanced but simple meals.

    Our place is located in Pichipehuenco, in the commune of Lonquimay, in the province of Malleco and La Araucanía Region. I run a small tourist company here in the southern zone of Chile, Husky Trekking, and experiences in cart (summer) and dog sledding expeditions (winter).

    I myself am originally from Santiago and I came to develop my project in this area recently, so we are working hard to install ourselves well in our new home. I have a baby daughter who accompanies me every so often.

    I have received some volunteers by other means and it is always very welcome all the help and new knowledge that can be received.

    If you are interested, please contact me.

    Thank you

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For the accommodation we have a room inside the cabin where we live. It has two beds, which can be occupied by volunteers. We also have a bathroom with hot shower, supplied with the slopes of the area.
    The piece is very simple and small, it has lights, a window and space to accommodate personal things.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It is ideal for volunteers to know that we go to the town a couple of times a week. There must always be people on the farm with the dogs, so we can not all go to the village, although they can logically make orders for things they need.
    It is the ideal place to enjoy nature and outdoor life, everyone who wants to enjoy a totally different adventure is welcome!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.0)

Communication: (4.3)





Host ref number: 246745319662