Country life in La Sierra de Huelva, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 652 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a French-Dutch couple (63 and 59 years old) living in the Sierra de Huelva since 2005, on a little farm, which we try to make as self-sufficient as possible. We keep a vegetable garden and are independent on water and energy. Our dry-toilet and wastewater cleaningsystem through plants are good examples of how recycling can be easy on a small scale. We have planted an orchard with the help of some wonderful workawayers. Now the young fruit-trees are growing! The animals living with us are a horse, chicken, dogs and cats.

    We have several next projects with which we need help: dry-stone-walling, cutting wood, helping in the vegetable garden and other planting. Also painting and simple building tasks. We would be very pleased to receive people with experience in these matters, as well as people that like to take care of our horse Severa and ride her through the amazing surroundings.

    We have 5 grown-up indepent children in the age between 40 and 19 they come and go, all of us speak Spanish, English, French, Dutch and Flemish.
    François is an eco-builder, carpenter and mechanic and Marie a cooker, translator, social worker and more.

    We are hard-working people, but enjoy very much a good meal with fine conversations. Although we are not strict vegetarians, we prepare mostly vegetarian and vegan meals.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak several languages at home. We try to live as self-sufficient as possible, have experience in vegetable-garden, animal-care, (eco)building, baking bread, mechanics, shiatsu-massage, natural healthcare etc.etc.

  • Help

    Help

    There is field-, garden-, and house chores to do. Somebody that knows about natural horsemanship is very welcome too.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We are happy to share meals with you. We can offer you a two-persons guest-room with its own toilet and shower. There is place for a camper-van to park on the finca, but not too big, since the track is narrow in some places.
    We are situated about 3 km from a small village in the natural-park of Sierra de Aracena, in a beautiful nature of rolling hills covered with cork-,chestnut-, and olive-trees at about 700 m altitude. Ideal for walking, cycling or horse-riding.
    We have a horse, which is available for rides, if you have some experience. Bicycles as well to lend you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Living in the natural park, is an experience on itself. The local people are enchanting.
    We, as a family, are happy and generally share our life with new people.
    The area has got a number of small beautiful white villages, all are worth visiting. The park is a paradise for horse-riding, mountain-biking and walking. There are daily buses to Seville (2 hours). We are a working people, but like enjoying a good meal and a nice conversation on our grapevine-covered terrace. Or nearby the stove on which we prepare our winter meals.
    We have bicycles for you to use if you would want to explore the neighbourhood on pedals.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    The access to our place is not available for big motorhomes. Take contact with us before to know size of the van.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day 5 days a week or 3 7-hour-days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)















Host ref number: 245984381474