1 / 5

Help with our garden, vegetables and animals in the Picos with beaches close by Cangas de Onis, Spain

  • Spain
  • Favourited 52 times
  • Last activity: 13/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are Lisa and Nick, a couple in our thirties with 2 young children, a cat, sheep and chickens, that moved to Asturias 3 years ago to live in a natural paradise. We have renovated an old house that includes a large plot of land that we are developing to provide self sustaining lifestyle for our family and guests.

    Lisa is German and also speaks fluent Spanish, English & Italian. Lisa has recently finished a 4 year degree in Ayurvedic Medicine and has a passion for the natural environment. Once we have established our farm and infrastructure Lisa plans to run Health & Wellness Retreats from our home. Lisa is the driving force behind our vegetable farm and turning the produce into incredible healthy meals.

    Nick is English and terrible at all languages but always willing try. Over the last 3 years Nick has been renovating old properties to rent as holiday homes. Before moving to Asturias Nick spent 15 years working in the Adventure Sports industry and has a long list of instructor qualifications. Nick is a fanatical surfer and will be at the beach every time there is a good swell.

    We already have and extensive vegetable garden and are planning a new forest garden, working forest (for firewood and timber), lakes for water retention and swimming, and increasing our livestock. We aim to create a network of paths and seating areas so we can run retreats and workshops and have our property enjoyed by guests and visitors alike.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are happy to help with leaning languages and we have a friend living on site who is a trained english teacher.

    Nick is a passionate surfer and will make trips to the coast whenever its good. We have wetsuits for all sizes and various boards for people to use.

    We are surrounded by wonderful walks.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help maintaining our land and looking after the vegetables and animals. We have two apartments currently let on a rental platform but we manage them ourselves and use a local cleaner when needed.

    The main focus will be the vegetable garden. This year we ploughed a large area and have really tried to increase what we produce, and reduce what we consume from supermarkets. But it’s very time consuming! Along with the garden and land Nick is always building something. Whether it’s steps, fences, walls, there will be opportunities to learn some skills if you want to help.

    Some experience using garden tools would be great but not essential as all can be explained.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation will be glamping in a bell tent with a proper bed and separate shower and toilet. Our volunteer accommodation is in an incredible secluded spot with incredible views. You will have your own space and privacy.

    We will provided food for a simple breakfast and lunch provided on the days you work. There is a cooking hob, fridge and water in the volunteer area so you are able to cook evening meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are only 15 minutes from Ribadesella, Arriondas and the coast. We are however slightly off the main road, and up a big hill, so getting about by public transport isn't easy. We regularly go into town and to the beach when you will be welcome to join. If you have your own transport it would definitely help. Campervans are welcome.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 858797797134

Feedback (1)

Photos

Feedback


Come and experience the land of Don Quixote, Spain
Help our family with language practice and around the home in Lugo in north west Spain