Handy people are welcome to find their 'Home away from Home' with us in Bulls, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

updated  

Favourited 93 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/10/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    113

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We operate a small lodge (accommodation and small venue hire) in a lovely historic places villa with expansive gardens. Bulls is a small town centrally located within 30 minutes of both Palmerston North and Whanganui. The small township forms the junction of two major North Island Highways (SH 1 and 3).
    The Rangitikei and Manawatu Districts offer great walking tracks and adventure tours, with the Whanganui, Rangitikei and Manawatu Rivers all within a half hour drive. The Te Araroa Walk (NZ walk from Bluff to Cape Reinga) takes travelers straight past our property (or they can choose to stay with us in the Lodge for a night or two to break their journey).
    Jo and Rhys Emerson (Mother and Son hosts).

    Vegans welcome! ( Rhys is vegan)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My son (25yrs of age) and I reside at the property but I work as a School Principal at a primary school. Lots of opportunity to learn and experience Kiwi culture, including that of our indigenous people (Maori).

  • Help

    Help

    Great if you are a keen gardener and/or handyperson with basic maintenance and building projects, including painting. If you can speak german and prepared to help me (Rhys) learn this language then that's a bonus.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room. Shared bathroom. Full board (food, power, internet) in return for help.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Sightseeing locally- Rangitikei and Manawatu. Our property is on the New Zealand Walk Trail - Te Araroa

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)














Host ref number: 291681255227