Help care for our dogs and cats and help with our house in green Asturias, northern Spain

  • Favourited 49 times
  • Last activity: 29 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a British family living in the lovely green north of Spain in Asturias. We have 9 rescued cats and 3 rescued dogs and 2 foster dogs. We are looking for somebody to help care for our pets and to help us with work around the house and garden.

    We are Michael, Penelope and our son Bentley who is 13.

    Our house is walking distance to Villaviciosa (600m) and 9km from a lovely beach called Rodiles. There are good bus links from Villaviciosa to Ribadesella, Llanes, Gijon and Oviedo among others. Asturias is known for mountain trails and surfing. It really is a paradise here.

    The people who have enjoyed being here in the past are people who adore animals, they love being surrounded by cats and dogs and receiving all the love and affection that they like to give people. Our house is in the process of being done up so it's a little scruffy and with all of our animals it's hard for there not be some mud and pet hairs in the house so that needs not to be a problem for you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Asturias is green and in places the mountains are only 15km from the beach, it's pretty stunning. We love meeting new people and have had lots of fun with Workawayers in the past. We home educate our son which former visitors have been interested to find out more about. People have also been interested in the way we live - we try to eat healthily, feed our pets healthily. We always have lots of philosophical discussions with visitors if they're up for that!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with any of the below
    1) Caring for our pets including walking the dogs, feeding dogs and cats, cleaning litter trays
    2) General housework
    3) Giving medication to one of our cats (it's easy, he has it with food)
    4) Simple gardening

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    Please note that the last person left because she was expecting formal English language tuition. It's hard for us to find time to do this but we're very very happy to speak to visitors in English whenever they like.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A spare room in our house shared with a very friendly cat

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The city of Gijon is 30 minutes away by bus with museums, shops and a beach, Ribadesella is 40 minutes away, a gorgeous seaside resort, Villaviciosa, our closest town has cafes, nice shops and some nice walks. Rodiles is a beautiful beach 9km away. Oviedo, capital of Asturias, is a 30 minute bus ride away and is a pretty cultural city with museums, opera. Food in Asturias is known as being some of the best in the country. Not far away are the Picos de Europa mountains and there are other beautiful walks nearby.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day (max 25 hours/week)

Host ref number: 245445377351

Feedback (4)



Feedback