Help with gardening, permaculture, building in a rural village in western Turkey

Country

Turkey

updated  

Favourited 385 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/01/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1589

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live here as a community and share agriculture and building experience with volunteer friends.

    We need hands and hearts to support us to build a strawbale house, an open kitchen and outdoor leisure areas using hand tools as well as cooking, singing, moving our body and meditating :)

    We love being in the nature, working with our hands, sharing our experiences and ideas , building a life that is respecting the world around us, creating spaces that nourish the people and the nature. We are mostly vegetarian, it is okay if you are not, but at least a vegetarian diet is what we support in our land.

    Looking forward to meeting you!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get experience about ecological design, natural building, and gardening & permaculture. We also have weekly check-in circles and we will be (hopefully) doing some body movement (yoga, dance) and meditation.

  • Help

    Help

    Hello traveler, welcome to our land!

    We are looking for volunteers to help us with building our home, that can contribute with their hands and hearts. We prefer if you can stay for at least a week. Volunteers will assist with building, gardening and cooking. We will be mostly digging, and making the structures.

    Help
    Projects are done on a voluntary basis so you can take time for yourself, we believe that the best work comes when you feel good :) That being said we wish our volunteers to share the workload so around 4-5 hours of work a day should be expected. During the summer time to avoid overheating, we start early in the morning, work till midday and take a break till 17:00 and work again until the sunset (around 20:00). If you don't want to be a part of building work, you can help us with cooking or preparing the garden sites.

    Accommodation
    There is enough space available within the house with electricity ( solar system) and there is problem with the running water but we carry the water with the car 50 m far.
    We have limited internet so you can use for communications .

    Facilities
    The nearest small shop is 7 km away from the village. We will provide food so you don't need to worry about that but if you have special requirements, you need to take care of them yourself. We will be visiting the market every Wednesday where you can get what you need.

    Logistics
    We are located in Pamukova village in the city of Sakarya, not far from Istanbul. Just write to us where you are coming from so that we can describe how to get here, it's fairly easy.

    If you want to join us please contact us and provide your full name, date of arrival, your skills/ interests and how long you plan to stay as far in advance as you can.

    Looking forward to meeting you!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Turkish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I want to speak English very well also I want to speak Spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is enough space available within the house with electricity and water is limited but sometimes we carry with our car.
    We have limited internet so if you want to use it we expect you to use it for communication.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can join activities like trekking, music jams, meditation, yoga, gardening during your time off.
    There is a castle nearby so you can do hiking for a perfect view.
    We have a small seed bank and we would be immensely happy if you bring your favorite plant's seeds to share with us. We can also share with you what we have :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have too much space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hrs /day, 5 days a week

View from our OLD house in the ecovillage
Ecovillage house construction stage
Ecovillage house construction stage
Workshops and camps
Lovely volunteers
Geodesic dome from our previous living area

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (2.0)

Cultural exchange: (3.3)

Communication: (2.7)










Host ref number: 244344927624