Organic Smallholding with Holistic Healing and Mountain Views in Ranentsi, Kyustendil Region, Bulgaria



Favourited 32 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    Namaste. I live in the mountain foothills in South West Bulgaria very close to the Macedonian border. The land is 2900 M2 on a South west facing slope with beautiful mountain forest views and the sound of cowbells often being heard.

    I am currently renovating the old house which has been doubled in size. One bedroom has been finished and fitted with a woodstove so is cozy warm. New doubled glazed windows and doors have been fitted and ceiling insulation throughout. The bathroom is nearly finished (tiling done, washbasin, shower and water heater to be fitted - probably this week), although currently I am using an outside stone sink for washing, and a rocket stove outside for cooking.

    The huge gardens were very overgrown when I bought the property in mid August 2019 but I have made much progress in clearing the land in preparation for growing organic food. With the help of volunteers we have constructed a wood store, a compost toilet, composting bins, a fire circle and a no-till permaculture bed so far (mid November 2019). A hugelculture bed is about to begin!

    In the property there is also a large barn in need of renovation. Both the barn and house have cellars.

    I have a nearly 2 hour practice of meditation, Kundalini yoga, headstand and mantra chanting each morning before breakfast. Visitors are welcome to join my practice. I eat healthy, mostly vegan food, usually having a green smoothie for breakfast (but sometimes oats with fruit).

    Please avoid bringing any one time use packaging, and meat, fish and any non-natural personal care products into the property.

    Over the last 13 years, since I became aware I was on an awakening journey from this dream of life on earth, I have learned many "spiritual" practices and much about holistic health. I am passionate about sharing what has helped me on my journey to better physical and emotional health and to becoming a more compassionate and loving person.

    UPDATE 19th Feb 2020
    I've been away in the UK for nearly 2 months and returned just over a week ago. The finish plastering is virtually all finished in the house. Bathroom still waiting to be finished, so no shower yet. There is hot water with a make-shift sink inside. Currently i have moved the temporary kitchen into the one warm bedroom.

    While away in the UK, my passion for co-creating a system to enable abundance and peace on earth was revived. I began searching for a platform and found one. Its called Steem. I also found a proposal for the Matrix-8 Multi-Level Governance Platform written by John Huckel. I am now working with him to make this a reality. I am therefore also open to receiving coders to volunteer here to create the Matrix-8 Platform on the Steem Blockchain.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Help with Eco project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The nearby town of Kyustendil is famous for its hot spring baths which we can visit probably at least once a week. There are many beautiful walks, rivers, reservoirs and lakes in the region.

    Occasionally we may visit nearby friends for making music and singing mantras, and/or they may visit us.

  • Help


    I invite volunteers who have gardening and or construction experience to work in the garden, helping to create an abundance of fruit, vegetable, herbs and nuts, and/or in the house/barn/cellars. Also i am open to recieving a developer/coder to create the Matrix-8 Dapp on Steem.

    This winter plan to build a masonry rocket central heating cookstove based in plans from Walker Stoves. Experience with this type of construction is welcome.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English (native language), a little French Spanish &Turkish, a very little Bulgarian

  • Accommodation


    You will sleep on a floor mattress in one of the two bedrooms, the room possibly being shared with another volunteer or two. If you prefer a private space then you may sleep in a tent which I can provide (unless you have your own) in one if the other spaces. Blankets are available. Ideally bring you own sheet(s) / sleeping bag liner but if not I can provide them.

    I offer a work exchange of 20 productive hours per week in exchange for 3 meals per day. The food is nutritious and healthy and delicious. Usually a green smoothie for breakfast (or oats with fruit as an alternative), bread/rice crackers with nut butter/relishes/pesto with salad for lunch and cooked vegetables with rice/buckwheat or similar for evening meal. Tea/coffee also provided and often a little dark chocolate. The food prep and cleaning up is shared, in addition to the work hours.

    Alternatively, if you prefer to relax more and work less I can offer 10 hours work exchange for accomodation only, with you providing and making your own food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Walks in countryside, relaxation, yoga, meditation, holistic health guidance, spiritual talks/movies, hot spring baths, fire circles, mantra chanting.

    As I have a limited internet data package please do not stream video or audio. If you really need to do this you can buy 30 GB if data for 5 Leva to use via WiFi (or buy a local simcard for your phone for 10 Leva with 3 GB of data and 250 minutes of calls).

    Be aware the house is a bit of a construction site at the moment so we are rustic living, with outside compost toilet, outside stove and washing ourselves and dishes outside. By early December 2019 the inside bathroom (with inside compost toilet) and a rudimentary inside kitchen should be finished. It is getting quite cold now some days (and most nights) so bring winter clothes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2 - 4 hours a day, 5 days a week (as detailed above).

Volunteers Joseph, Connor and Krishna taking a tea break
Volunteers James and Arina taking a video kundalini yoga class
Curious cows (with bells) wandering up the lane past our gate
compost toilet (hidden behind bushed for privacy) - side and front screening waiting for volunteer to add :-)
Bathroom in progress, but i just bought the tiles and shoud start tiling monday 13th Oct
Bedroom work continues
a rocket stove i made in the garden to cook on
a view from the garden
a view of the house from the garden
a kitchen/medicine shelf cabinet i made from an old window frame
Temporary kitchen
Bedroom and yoga space when it's too cold.outside

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 244277125789